h1

McClellan Book Reaction Hilarity Depot Thread

May 28, 2008

This is a thread for all the LOL’s over this McClellan book thing.  I just find it hilarious width and breadth of the theories I’ve come across.  Like, “who got to him” type stuff.  “I question the timing” .  Ya know.  Deflector shields on MAX. 

Also, I’ll admit that I heard this on the radio today.  This Scotty thing actually brought a woman to tears:

BEGIN TRANSCRIPT

RUSH: We’ll start with Darla in Bellingham, Washington. Hi, Darla, nice to have you here.

CALLER: Hi, Rush. I tell you, I’m so… I’m so… I can hardly talk. I am so upset about this Scott McClellan book. I — I have children and grandchildren that I have to try to protect in our great nation. And here for a buck, for payback, I don’t care what it is. He can’t wait ’til the president’s out of office? We have to do things, and, of course, he has more credence because he’s known, quote, unquote, the president longer than many so he comes out with this trashy crap in this book that gives to the haters of this country, the terrorists of the world. If it makes our news media wonder if the president’s going to comment on it while he’s trying to give a speech to a graduating class then, oh, it must be that important, well, if they say it and it emboldens them — and it always does embolden them — well, does it make the country safer? Where is the patriotism in this country? I can certainly say it. We have lost our soul. Scott, you’re a citizen of the country first. If it’s payback to the president, fine. Is it payback to me? Is it payback to my family, too? Do you have to make the buck first? (voice breaking) I am sorry I sound upset but, Rush, that’s just — I — I — I don’t get it. I’m — I’m fed up. Where is the patriotism in this country? Where? Why have we decided that we don’t just have to hate the president, we have to hate our country, we have to hate what it stands for, we have to put our desire for money and our 15 minutes of fame above everything?

 I’ll try to get more as I stumble upon it.

Update:  Good stuff at Sadly No! and Hysterical Raisins.

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

22 comments

  1. Interview Request

    Hello Dear and Respected,
    I hope you are fine and carrying on the great work you have been doing for the Internet surfers. I am Ghazala Khan from The Pakistani Spectator (TPS), We at TPS throw a candid look on everything happening in and for Pakistan in the world. We are trying to contribute our humble share in the webosphere. Our aim is to foster peace, progress and harmony with passion.

    We at TPS are carrying out a new series of interviews with the notable passionate bloggers, writers, and webmasters. In that regard, we would like to interview you, if you don’t mind. Please send us your approval for your interview at my email address “ghazala.khi at gmail.com”, so that I could send you the Interview questions. We would be extremely grateful.

    regards.

    Ghazala Khan
    The Pakistani Spectator
    http://www.pakspectator.com


  2. Much ado about nothing. By next week, Scott McClellan will be a silent fart in the wind and forgotten. He’s already being discredited by his own words as we speak and the only people that will buy into him Chen will be the lefty haters like you. Judas and 30 pieces of silver…as was Stephanopoulos to Clinton.

    The only thing I can criticize Bush and agree with BDS folks is how pathetic this clown was when he was the press secretary. Between Ari Fleisher and Tony Snow, this doughboy was a rank amateur and made me ashamed when he stepped up to the podium. A complete, lying lightweight – kind of like Obama.


  3. He was interviewed on NPR and it seems like his book is being misrepresented by a lot of folks. They focus on the word ‘propaganda’ but (from the interview) this seemed to be his thesis:

    Bush, etc. were intoxicated by the idea of spreading democracy through military intervention. This isn’t a terrible idea, but doesn’t sell well. So they came up with a way to sell it. They genuinely believed they were doing the right thing, but were blinded by their own hubris. This is the result of the political culture of Washington.

    That’s far less earth-shaking than people in the media are making it out to be. You mean we gave some other reason to the US public than the actual reason? Remember the Maine/Lusitania/Ft. Sumter/Gulf of Tonkin? Probably not.

    That’s no anti-patriotic. He’s selling no one out. Heck, it’s probably just an obvious thing to say. Do you REALLY believe that we went into Iraq to find WMD’s? The Bush administration doesn’t even really say that any more. They talk about the loftier goal of spreading democracy.


  4. blogo-

    That’s far less earth-shaking than people in the media are making it out to be. You mean we gave some other reason to the US public than the actual reason? Remember the Maine/Lusitania/Ft. Sumter/Gulf of Tonkin? Probably not.

    That’s no anti-patriotic. He’s selling no one out. Heck, it’s probably just an obvious thing to say. Do you REALLY believe that we went into Iraq to find WMD’s? The Bush administration doesn’t even really say that any more. They talk about the loftier goal of spreading democracy.

    Earth shaking? I suppose not, but only from the perspective that it only adds to the case that Bush lied us into this war (and I believe that the case had been made well before this book).

    But this seemingly self contradictory statement:

    Bush, etc. were intoxicated by the idea of spreading democracy through military intervention. This isn’t a terrible idea, but doesn’t sell well.

    Don’t ya think a good idea might sell? I mean, people wouldn’t have bought into the idea that a responsible reaction to 9/11 was to commit America’s resources to a decades-long and no doubt trillion dollar endeavor to reshape the Middle East, starting in the heart of the Sunni/Shia divide? No shit?

    Also, I mean, there’s more to it than that. It’s not simply because the “reasons” were different, like the reason for buying something at the mall might be about getting a new suit or really about putting miles on your credit card. This guy was telling us that he was trying to avoid war. The whole premise of the AUMF was to be used as leverage to force Saddam to comply with UN resolutions, but they had no other intention than to use it to play RISK with our nation’s real live troops. In that sense, it should be earthshaking.

    If we don’t stand up and hold people responsible it’s just going to happen over and over again.


  5. Chen,

    If this guy is as legitimate as you believe, why is doughboy running to the lefty networks to sell his book? He canceled on Fox…

    His mom got burned in a primary in Texas (doughboy’s contact to Bush), has turned tail ala Cindy Sheehan, and Pillsbury’s trying to bury the hatchet.

    McClellan’s final quote upon leaving the Whitehouse: “I am honored and grateful to be a small part of a terrific and talented team of really good people…”

    Sounds like Doughboy has the makings of an excellent lib.


  6. Chen-
    Well, that’s a good point.


  7. Tex-

    I’m not even sure what to make of that comment, other than to say that you appeared rather eager to throw out some superficial thing first; I was pretty close to giving you the white flag or something there. (the other consideration was the black helicopter).


  8. Test using new tablet PC …my handwriting sucks

    Sure Chen, give me the flag.


  9. oops… that would be Tex Taylor
    :)


  10. I finally foUNA Something this thread useful for…


  11. Yeah, yeah …

    A bunch of weasels have always sold out any administration. McClellan is just the most recent. I figure McClellan is just like Dick Morris, a hack who will sell out anyone for a few bucks.


  12. Tex-

    Naw, I won’t give you the flag. It’s there for attacks on other commenters. And, no, I don’t mind you using the thread to try out a new toy.

    wickle-

    Sold out? Well, I guess one could look at it that way. I just think that the reactions are a source of humor.


  13. Yes … I think reactions are funny from both sides, though. Suddenly, everyone who used to love McClellan hates him (rumors that he’s corrupt, the gay bar stories, etc.) and those who hated him now love him for his courage.

    My reaction is more like a yawn. I don’t think there’s anything new here … but you’re right, the reactions are fun while they last.


  14. “Judas and 30 pieces of silver…as was Stephanopoulos to Clinton.”

    The only thing that public servants are loyal to is the American public. Assuming he’s competent enough to make these sorts of judgments (and it doesn’t seem his judgments are all that radical) then not saying what he believes to be true to the American public would be, at least in a democracy such as this, an act of disloyalty.


  15. The only thing that public servants are loyal to is the American public.

    I know you smart enough to know otherwise and was surely rhetorical. 95% of public servants are loyal to their next win; and if you’re like McClellan and not viable, the quickest way to make a buck.

    Frankly, it’s become the norm and the best argument for minimizing the need for public service which obviously becomes a corrupting influence.

    The private sector is not only far more efficient, but generally far more honest.


  16. “I know you smart enough to know otherwise and was surely rhetorical. 95% of public servants are loyal to their next win; and if you’re like McClellan and not viable, the quickest way to make a buck.”

    Good point. What I should have said was “The only thing that public servants OUGHT to be loyal to…” It seems McClellan believes what he’s saying and is competent enough to know what he’s talking about. If that’s true, then he told the American people something he thought they ought to hear. That’s the job of public servants, and people usually “make a buck” while doing their job. Seems to me that this is one case in which corruption and self-interest didn’t win over.

    “The private sector is not only far more efficient, but generally far more honest.”

    I’ve heard this argument before, but I’m not convinced. Mostly for lack of research, so I can’t really say what I think about this. However, it does seem that there are more ways in which government officials can be dishonest. Corruption and deception have stricter definitions in the public sphere. But I don’t know.


  17. Before you start telling me I hate America and then something about the military, let me clarify my original point. I was addressing your claim that McClellan was disloyal. He would only be disloyal if his loyalty to Bush overrode his loyalty to the American people, which it doesn’t.

    It looks like you think the guy is making shit up to make a buck. Well, he’s obviously trying to make a buck, but from interviews with the guy it seems like he genuinely believes what he’s saying. And it’s in line with things other people have said (lots of other people.)


  18. Blogo/Bluto,

    You addressing me? If so, yeah I know McClellan is lying. Now if you ask me exactly what he is lying about, I don’t know because his story changes from one venue to another; from one year to the next. We hear one thing at the podium, another in an interview.

    As I showed from “the quote” upon leaving the Whitehouse, Doughboy’s inconsistencies in truth are diametrically opposed. Pillsbury is obviously lying being he has now played both sides of the political fence.

    Scotty needs to make up his mind…personally, I think he’s a coward, can’t stand the heat that the Bush Adm. continues to receive, and has decided that this is his ticket. Unfortunately, the libs will dump him when they’ve used him – it’s the lefty m.o. McClellan will limp home richer his troubles but with his reputation already in shreds; a Judas one side – a dufus for the other.


  19. Tired of a competitor’s site? Hinder the enemy? Fed pioneers or copywriters?

    Kill their sites! How? We will help you in this!
    Obstructions of any site, portal, shop!

    Different types of attacks: Date-attack, Trash, Attack, Attack, etc. Intellectual
    You can work on schedule, as well as the simultaneous attack of several sites.

    On average the data, ordered the site falls within 5 minutes after the start. As a demonstration of our capabilities, allows screening.

    Our prices

    24 hours of attack – $ 70
    12 hours of the attack – $ 50
    1 hour attack – $ 25

    Contact via ICQ: 588 666 582


  20. saveourbrains.ru


  21. The question is removed

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?


  22. Here there can not be a mistake?

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

