h1

Gen. Wesley Clark: Decison to Attack Iraq Made 9/20/01

March 5, 2007

Just add this to the list of evidence that Bush lied when he said “hopefully no military action“,  here’s an  interview with Wesley Clark (with audio):

GEN. WESLEY CLARK: Well, in a way. But, you know, history doesn’t repeat itself exactly twice. What I did warn about when I testified in front of Congress in 2002, I said if you want to worry about a state, it shouldn’t be Iraq, it should be Iran. But this government, our administration, wanted to worry about Iraq, not Iran.

I knew why, because I had been through the Pentagon right after 9/11. About ten days after 9/11, I went through the Pentagon and I saw Secretary Rumsfeld and Deputy Secretary Wolfowitz. I went downstairs just to say hello to some of the people on the Joint Staff who used to work for me, and one of the generals called me in. He said, “Sir, you’ve got to come in and talk to me a second.” I said, “Well, you’re too busy.” He said, “No, no.” He says, “We’ve made the decision we’re going to war with Iraq.” This was on or about the 20th of September. I said, “We’re going to war with Iraq? Why?” He said, “I don’t know.” He said, “I guess they don’t know what else to do.” So I said, “Well, did they find some information connecting Saddam to al-Qaeda?” He said, “No, no.” He says, “There’s nothing new that way. They just made the decision to go to war with Iraq.” He said, “I guess it’s like we don’t know what to do about terrorists, but we’ve got a good military and we can take down governments.” And he said, “I guess if the only tool you have is a hammer, every problem has to look like a nail.”

It gets better (or worse), as Clark details how the admin. planned on taking out half of the Middle East. 


Digg!

4 comments

  1. Chen,

    Just Chin here dropping you a line. I wasn’t calling you out. But we get a lot of flames on the blog. We started a forum here…http://z8.invisionfree.com/Cut_to_the_Chase/index.php?act=idx…pretty slow right now, as we’ve only open the doors on the whole project about a month ago. Looks like you started about when I did. Anyway, I appreciate you stopping by. Our points as to Coulter-Maher are probably very similar. Feel free to drop by the forum and say hey. We are always looking for a broad scope of opinion. It’s mostly righties now, for obvious reasons. Either way, thanks for stopping by and I will be checking in here to see what you are up to.

    Regards,

    Chin


  2. OK I checked out the site. I like the concept of using the forum as an “incubator” for the blog and having a less noisy environment for discussions. I do my forum posting on relatively quiet fearbush message board with basically the same mindset.

    Are there any drawbacks to having a forum on a free site like that (I assume it is)? And how does it interact with your blog?

    Thanks for the invite BTW


  3. I basically started the board as an after thought. I have a few boards I frequent. I and my fellow posters will move conversations to my board when things start to get out of hand elsewhere. Basic interaction with the blog comes in the form of some folks dropping in and leaving me leads on stories. If it’s a good lead, I’ll blog it. Then, if the conversation in the forum is particularly stimulating, I’ll link it to the bog story. We also use the board for web polls.

    There aren’t any real drawbacks to the free board hosting, unless you plan to go commercial and do a lot of advertising. You’re more than welcome to post on our board. If you’d like a more liberal slant, I’d be happy to set you up with a Chenzen subforum. Another liberal friend of mine has a blog and would probably be happy to help you get some threads going. I’ll probably link him your site, if you don’t mind. That would be easy on you, as our board is already set up.

    If you’d rather set up your own board, I can give you all the pointers as to where to go and how to get it set up. Just let me know if you have any interest in setting setting up. Always happy to help a fellow blogger.

    -Chin


  4. Ah, no. I think the situation in Iraq is a little older than 9/20/01

    http://www.lewrockwell.com/paul/paul58.html

    Unfortunately its pin the tail on Bush. Thats just a trend.



Leave a Reply

