h1

Digg Search RSS Feeds Seem To Work For Every Keyword Except ‘Moonbat’

May 26, 2007

This is the oddest thing…

 A few months ago, I had this semi-snarky idea to use one of my 9 allowed RSS feeds to display a Digg search for the word ‘moonbat’ (see my post New Feature: Moonbat Watch).  For a while, it worked pretty well.  It was actually kinda neat to see how many Digg stories contained the word in the title or description.  Then, all of a sudden, it stopped working.  After a couple of attempts to re-do the widget, I finally gave up.  I guess I just assumed that Digg had changed something in their search RSS’s that was incompatible with WordPress or something. 

Today, I tried a different keyword for the search:  Bush.  I clicked on the little RSS, copied the url, and pasted it into the RSS widget.  Guess what?  It works like a charm!  What’s going on here?

So, someone please tell me that I’m not crazy.  Go to Digg, search for any keyword, click RSS, and you should see the feed page.  Then try ‘moonbat’ (or even ‘moonbats’) and see if it works.  When I try it, I get this error:

The XML page cannot be displayed

Cannot view XML input using XSL style sheet. Please correct the error and then click the Refresh button, or try again later.


The following tags were not closed: rss, channel. Error processing resource ‘http://www.digg.com/rss_search?search=moonbat&area=all&type=both§ion=news’.

 

I can’t seem to get that error for any other keyword. What happened Digg?  Did you sabotage me?

Update: I tried a few more words, and I did manage to get the error code for the word ‘witch’. I’m not sure if there’s any logic to what works or doesn’t. It should be noted, I guess, that ‘wingnut’ works just fine, however.

5 comments

  1. http://digg.com/rss_search?search=moonbat&area=all


  2. Oh thanks random! I had given up on “Moonbat Watch” altogether, and now I MUST bring it back. I must.


  3. Has come on a forum and has seen this theme. Allow to help you?

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?


  4. You commit an error. Let’s discuss.

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?


  5. It is rather grateful for the help in this question, can, I too can help you something?

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?



Leave a Reply

