h1

PBS FRONTLINE: “Endgame”

June 18, 2007

Since this seems to be related to my previous post, I thought I’d mention that I’ll be watching this program tomorrow night at 9pm (tptHD).  Here’s the summary:

Endgame

coming Jun. 19, 2007 at 9pm (check local listings)

(60 minutes) As the United States begins one final effort to secure victory through a “surge” of troops, FRONTLINE investigates how strategic and tactical mistakes brought Iraq to civil war. The film recounts how the early mandate to create the conditions for a quick exit of the American military led to chaos, failure, and sectarian strife. In Endgame, producer Michael Kirk (Rumsfeld’s War, The Torture Question, The Dark Side, and The Lost Year in Iraq) traces why the president decided to risk what military planners once warned could be the worst way to fight in Iraq — door-to-door — and assesses the likelihood of its success. Top administration figures, military commanders, and journalists offer inside details about the new strategy. (read the press release)

..and a short teaser vid posted on YouTube:


(Hat Tip: Hot Air)

I’ll post more here after I watch the program. Should be interesting. 

Update:  “The plan was, there was no plan” …wow

Update:  OK, I just finished watching it.  I gotta tell ya, it was sobering.  In a nutshell, we’ve been making our ‘plan’ up as went along. 

I think I’ve learned more about the Iraq conflict in this 60 minutes than I have in 4 years of watching media outlets like CNN and reading stories on the internet.  It was an excellent account of the behind-the-scenes events that have led us to our current situation.

My opinion?  I’m pretty sure that Shinseki would be vindicated.  In order for this to have worked, we would have needed several hundred thousand troops employing Col. McMaster’s ‘clear, hold, build’ blueprint from the very beginning.  If that had happened, we probably could have seen serious success within a year or two.  As it sits right now, however, it’s hard to be optimistic.  

If you want to view the full program online, or view extended interviews with key military players, strategists and journalists, go here

Update:  One more thing I figured out.  Bush hasn’t been straight with the American people about this war since the very beginning.  Not until his Jan. 11 address from this year did he decide that it was finally time to level with us (a little).  This is, of course, deplorable.

8 comments

  1. We watched last week’s Frontline and are looking forward to tonight’s. It’s intense, scary, can’t-believe-he’s-our-president stuff.


  2. It was an amazing show. I really hope it gets more air time.

    Bush is still lying about the war. I think its his nature, the guy can’t tell the truth.

    Glad you posted it for those who missed it.


  3. I saw “Endgame” too and I have to say I don’t think sending several hundred thousand troops would have been possible. We never intended to occupy Iraq. We really never even intended to be its police force. Frankly, I think the military thought that the existing army would be able to do the job. Maybe I need to watch it again. The person to ask about this was Rumsfield–and he was not interviewed. Very biased against the administration, IMHO.


  4. Yes well!

    P.S. Please review our stock icons site and windows13icons there.


  5. In my opinion it is obvious. I recommend to look for the answer to your question in google.com

    P.S. Please review our stock icons site and windows13icons there.


  6. I advise to you.

    P.S. Please review our stock icons site and windows13icons there.


  7. I consider, that you are not right. Let’s discuss. Write to me in PM, we will communicate.

    P.S. Please review our icons site.


  8. You are not right. I am assured.

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?



Leave a Reply

