h1

Dogs Against Vick

July 18, 2007

Just last week I highlighted a blog that was inspired by Mitt Romney’s alleged dog abuse, but now it’s probably time to start a new one based on the news regarding NFL star Michael Vick:  Falcons’ Vick indicted by grand jury in dogfighting probe

RICHMOND, Va. — NFL star Michael Vick was indicted by a federal grand jury Tuesday on charges of sponsoring a dogfighting operation so grisly the losers either died in the pit or sometimes were electrocuted, drowned, hanged or shot.

The Atlanta Falcons quarterback and three others were charged with competitive dogfighting, procuring and training pit bulls for fighting and conducting the enterprise across state lines.

The operation was named “Bad Newz Kennels,” according to the indictment, and the dogs were housed, trained and fought at a property owned by Vick in Surry County, Va.

Dogfighting?  DOGFIGHTING!  My goodness.  Where are we, Afghanistan?  (the practice was actually banned under the Taliban, oddly enough).  Is this actually fun to watch?  I can’t imagine being able to stomach it, personally.  There are probably hundreds of things people can gamble and bet on that don’t involve killing man’s best friend. 

Disgusting.

EDIT: I removed the pic of the poor dog that was all cut up from fighting. I just didn’t want to look at it anymore.

3 comments

  1. I read about this a few days ago and was horrified — the entire idea of dog fighting is totally outside my comprehension, let alone setting up an entire facility to breed the dogs and hold the events. What is WRONG with these people? (And I’m glad you took down the picture so I didn’t see it.)


  2. Yeah, that picture wasn’t pretty. It wasn’t one of Vick’s dogs (to my knowledge), as I just found it on a Google search. The poor guy looked alive at least, so maybe he was one of the lucky ones. Or maybe just the ‘winner’.

    Anyway, I’m think I’m gonna give my dog a treat now…just because.


  3. Its really hard for me to watch the constant news re-plays of the fights, and yes, I also want to go and give every dog I see some extra attention. The Mitt Romney thing I had no idea about.Now I dislike him even more.



Leave a Reply

