h1

Didn’t You Retire, Cindy?

August 11, 2007

Cindy Sheehan, Gold Star mother turned anti-war activist, has decided to run for Congress:  Peace activist Cindy Sheehan announces candidacy

Citing her son as inspiration, a tearful Cindy Sheehan announced her candidacy Thursday for the U.S. House of Representatives.

The anti-war activist is running as an independent against House Speaker Nancy Pelosi, who has represented San Francisco in Congress since 1987.

“The country is ripe for a change,” said Sheehan, who spoke at a podium with her son’s photograph attached to it. “It’s going to start right here and right now.”

I can empathise with Sheehan, but this is a woman who should have quit while she was ahead a year or two ago.  She made her point.  Instead of just leaving it at that, however, she’s embarked on a crusade and over time her message has become more and more belligerent.  Eventually, she started to get criticism from places that initially contained very vocal supporters.  It came to a head a few months back when she “announced her retirement“, but I had a feeling that we hadn’t seen the last of Sheehan.  At this point I don’t think it’s unfair to begin to question her sanity…

cindy.jpg

5 comments

  1. I think the most likely diagnosis is “nuts”.

    I hate to think that there is someone who would make me choose Pelosi if I lived in her district.


  2. Totally and completely disagree with you.

    Let Sheehan keep the pressure on Nancy “impeachment is off the table” Pelosi and her enabling of Bush and Cheney and their failed policies vis a vis the Iraq war.

    Pelosi has been in Congress so long now (20 years) and she’s grown so wealthy ($30 million according to Fortune magazine) that she’s become ineffective.

    I say to Cindy Sheehan, rock on and keep Pelosi’s Ferragamo-dressed feet to the fire.


  3. Let me take a wild guess, Christopher: you voted for Nader in ’00.


  4. Well Christopher I’m with you that it’s unwise to take impeachment off the table for any president and I wholeheartedly disagree with Pelosi on that, but there’s something about the way that Sheehan is doing this that doesn’t sit right with me. Maybe it’s the ultimatum. “If you don’t do this, I’m going to run”. I mean, if you’re going to run, just run! She made herself a one-issue candidate. If you think about it, it is more than a tad nutty.


  5. mattbastard,

    Wrong again. I voted for Al Gore in 2000. Would’ve turned out well had 5 banana republicans in black robers on the SCOTUS not tossed 7,000 ballots in heavily-Democratic Miami Dade.

    I wouldn’t bother playing Poker if I were you — your odds are pretty lousy.

    ChenZhen,

    Nothing wrong with one issue candidates. Look at the Repugs: “I’m FOR cutting taxes.” Or the Dems: “I’m FOR gun control.”

    Pelosi is a disgrace and she’s engendered the fury of her district and the antiwar crowd for protecting and enabling the Mofo from Midland. Worse still, she’s driving people out of the Democratic party (like me) who are frustrated with the Pelosi and Reid show.



Leave a Reply

