h1

My 1½ Years At LGF, Part V: Obsession With Daily Kos

October 21, 2007

Another thing you’d notice if you read LGF is that they talk about and link to diaries at Daily Kos. A lot. Primarily, the recurring theme is the showcasing of a Kossack diary and it’s subsequent mockery in the comments section. Less often, you’d see a thread about Kos himself, or something about the site generally. The exercise was so common that you’d be hard-pressed to read LGF for a few days without seeing at least one thread about something that happened in Kosland. (Added factoid: The thing that prompted me to get a membership at DK was my inability to overcome the insatiable curiousity I had. You know, to find out what all the hubub was about.)

A while after noticing this, I documented the adventures of Killgore Trout, who is easily LGF’s chief Kos reconnaissance agent. While conducting the research for this post, I couldn’t help but be awe struck by the sheer volume of Kos diarists that had the honor of gracing LGF’s main page. Killgore certainly wasn’t the only lurker-linker, however. Kos links would routinely appear in the comments section of any given thread, offered up by any number of Lizardoids. (Apparently, the prospect of finding a “gem” worthy of front page status and receiving a hat tip for the effort was deemed quite valuable.)  All told, I have no doubt that hundreds of Kos links would turn up for the ambitious soul who might take the time to search.

What some might find particularly ironic about all this is, on the one hand, Kos Derangement Syndrome, and on the other, the absolute hatred the LGFers direct at the Dreaded Blog of Blasphemy (my coinage), aka LGF Watch, aka “stalker blog #1“. In the blog LGF world, you see, “stalking” is apparently defined as a blogger’s obsessive scrutiny of another blog’s posts and comments, along with mocking a blogger and his/her commentors on a regular basis and over an extended period.

Creepy.

Do I have a theory on why Charles and the gang are so preoccupied by what goes on at Daily Kos?  Not really.  One thing that is revealing, I suppose, is that these days Charles will often refer to the site as the “mainstream voice of the Democratic Party“, which might lead someone to think that he believes that his efforts would have an effect on the wider political stage.  On the other hand,  he often throws in the “screw them” nickname whenever he posts about Markos himself, which might mean that it’s more about Kos than the website.  Perhaps it’s jealousy.  Or, it could be that it’s simply the biggest tree to pick cherries from.  A little of all of the above? I don’t know.

Tomorrow’s topic:

Symphony of Sycophants

12 comments

  1. About the only reason I still read LGF is to find stories that link to Daily Kos. I then go to the linked story or diary and mock the lizardoids. Such comments are always titled “Greetings, lizardoids.”


  2. One night (pre-ban) I joked that I should go over to DK and sell “I was featured on LGF” t-shirts. It didn’t go over too well, but I made the point.

    But, yea, it’s basically gotten to the point that if you want to get Charles’ or the lizards attention, you don’t post it on LGF, you post it on Daily Kos. Next time I might throw a little “Hi Killgore” on there lol.

    BTW- Did you get banned too Sura? If you did, I missed it.


  3. Yes, CZ, I’m banned. Chucky was apparently too much the coward to announce it. So I mocked him from Daily Kos.


  4. LOL. So LGF inspired you to join Kos as well? That’s classic!


  5. Chen,

    Aren’t YOU obsessed with LGF in the same way you decry LGF is obsessed with Kos?

    Pot. Kettle. Black.


  6. Well, I have a few last parts here for the memoirs, then I’m done. I don’t think you can say the same about them.


  7. Chen,

    That remains to be seen. Right now I am witnessing utter LGF obsession.


  8. It might look that way, because I broke it into parts instead of one post, but I prefaced this whole thing by saying:

    So, to visiting LGFers, I bid you a fond farewell. But before I put LGF behind me forever, I thought it would be nice to take a stroll down memory lane, reflect, and post some final thoughts and observations that I’ve gathered during my time there. After all, 1600 comments is quite a cumulative investment on my part, so perhaps it’d be appropriate to take a little extra time to post a few conclusions that I’ve drawn. I feel uninhibited to be completely candid at this point, and I guess that on some level, I owe it to myself to do so (blame Killgore). These are things that I made a point to keep to myself (for the most part), until now.

    There are 8 parts total, and I’m saving the best one for last, so stick around 🙂


  9. If you want to see truly “utter LGF obsession”, Red Tulip, come visit Nodrog’s Greatest Hits, to be accesssed at http://www.nodrogsgreatesthits.blogspot.com. I am taking a 4 1/2 year stroll down memory lane through LGF. I’m doing so because, well, I wrote so many interesting and profound things over the years that, instead of repeating them in a new blog, it’s best to just scour the LGF archives for the gems and bring them to the world directly. And, my adventures on LGF teach us all wider truths, about the nature of LGF, the nature of blogs in general, and our cosmic metaphysical existence.


  10. Ooops, Gordo… you put the period inside of your link, (i.e. right after the “.com”) and it’s messing up your link.


  11. This will be better: http://www.nodrogsgreatesthits.blogspot.com .


  12. Guess what? Your blog is amazing! I can’t remember when was the last time i’ve overcome such a good blog that almost all articles/posts were interesting and wouldn’t regret spending my time reading it. I hope you will keep up the great work you are doing here and i can enjoy my everyday read at your blog.



Leave a Reply

