h1

Thoughts On Comment Moderation

November 26, 2007

This post is addressed specifically to members of the WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance for discussing the subject of moderating comments. 

Now, I’m well aware of the different rationale behind it, but I suppose that in the spirit of debate and timely responses I would encourage alliance members to turn their automatic moderation off.  Personally, I have my spam settings set so that a comment with 2 or more hyperlinks will sit in the moderation que.  It seems to be a good formula, but I’ve thought about changing it.  In fact, every time it blocks a netizen that is backing up their arguments with a few links I feel kinda guilty if I didn’t get around to making their post appear until hours later.  So,  I guess I don’t like the idea of having a lively debate on one of your blogs hampered by having to wait for the author to get around to approving every single comment, but I’m open to input on this.

In the end, it’s your blog, and if you’ve been experiencing a influx of undesirables coming onto your site and leaving turds I guess I can understand this move.  At the same time, however, askimet does a pretty good job with the spam, and it’s relatively easy to block persistent trolls.

Thoughts?

13 comments

  1. Good idea, I just changed mine,,

    oh yeah,,, you said turds.. eh eh eh eh eh


  2. That’s a good idea. I just changed mine as well.


  3. I’d like to add my voice to this. The hyperlink tip by Chen really does work. I’ve always used it as a way to secure the blog and keep counterpoints focused to the post. The Alliance offers an excellent opportunity to see diverse views and enter into exchanges. Deletion is always an option and not all that time consuming. I hope others will see the value in interacting with their fellow humans.


  4. As long as everyone understands that I am always right…… 🙂


  5. Cool. I was hoping that No Compromises would chime in here as well, but I think his ping page is defective or something. I might need to use the ol’ email.


  6. Anyone can post on my blog’s comment section.

    All it asks for is a name and an email address and that is all. The only moderation feature I have turned on is the incoming hyperlink thingy.

    Experience has taught me when it is turned off, my blog is inundated with websites promising mortgages to people with bad credit, pictures of Jodie Foster’s pussy and weight loss pills guaranteed. I don’t have the time or interest to check each comment to remove such garbage, so I let Akismet do it for me.

    The moderation feature that drives me nuts on blogger is the alpha code requirement. I try to support everyone I blogroll but often, it’s difficult for me to read the letters clearly to type them in the verification box and I have 20/20 vision!


  7. you know chen, I never did a ping page, whats the benefit again?


  8. Chen, what’re your thoughts on the teacher/teddy bear named after Mo incident?

    Should she get 40 lashes?

    Charles won’t comment on this subject, maybe you have the cajones or maybe not…


  9. Chen, what’re your thoughts on the teacher/teddy bear named after Mo incident?

    Should she get 40 lashes?

    Charles won’t comment on this subject, maybe you have the cajones or maybe not…

    Well, as I posted over at No Compromise, I think the whole thing is pretty ridiculous. So, no, I don’t think she should get 40 lashes. In any case, I think it’s a pretty good reason not to visit Sudan.

    BTW- There is a thread about it over at LGF, so I’m not quite sure what you mean. Also, why not just post using your LGF nic instead of “xlizerd”? If you’re an “x”, then surely there wouldn’t be any fallout for posting over here on my blog. I’m not sure what there’d be to hide.


  10. I have mine set so that once I’ve approved you, you’re good — unless you’ve got 3 or more hyperlinks.

    I had it wide open until a couple weeks ago, when I committed the unforgivable sin of questioning an advertisement by a candidate with a lot of online support.

    One Mom (not a part of the Alliance, I think, but I read her blog daily) has also had a huge problem lately.

    Generally, though, I do prefer the open-access in the spirit of lively discussion and debate. I’ll go back and see what happens.


  11. Since I started blogging, I’ve not used any moderation and have the link thing set to 2. For the most part, I’ve had no problems.


  12. not to change the subject, but has anyone noticed that in this years political debates, there has not been ANY political commercials shown during any of the debates. Is this something new or have i just not noticed it before?


  13. Damn! I would have joined this but I’m with Blogger. You have Pingbacks? We’re still winding up things with elastic bands.
    http://madammiaow.blogspot.com/

    I had no moderation at mine since I started in 2007 but this year a spate of hate-fuelled anti-Chinese rants and some dodgy woman-hating lurkers changed that.



Leave a Reply

