h1

Flame Warrior Profile: Big Tent Democrat

February 17, 2008

Every once and awhile, I stumble upon a netizen that really makes me scratch my head and wonder.  Such a thing occurred when I came across the recent postings of former Kossack and current TalkLeft inhabitant Big Tent Democrat.  There’s just something about someone who is supposedly male passionately championing the cause of feminism, I guess, and it’s evidenced by a recent burst of blog entries:

1. Feminists For Clinton  (Elections 2008, All Topics)
posted by Big Tent Democrat on 02/16/2008 08:10:12 PM EST
102 comments

2. Open Thread  (Blog Related, All Topics)
posted by Big Tent Democrat on 02/16/2008 02:30:22 PM EST
74 comments

3. ABC Blog: Is Obama Using Sexist Language?  (Elections 2008, All Topics)
posted by Big Tent Democrat on 02/16/2008 01:35:20 PM EST
49 comments

4. The Malign Acceptance of Sexism  (Blog Related, All Topics)
posted by Big Tent Democrat on 02/16/2008 12:20:34 PM EST
76 comments

5. These Kinds Of Sexist Remarks Are Not What I Am Looking For  (Elections 2008, All Topics)
posted by Big Tent Democrat on 02/16/2008 09:30:52 AM EST
207 comments

I suppose the open thread was thrown in there so that everyone over at TL could catch their breath, because you might have noticed that all those posts were published in a span of 12 hours.  What’s even more peculiar is the extreme hypersensitivity displayed with regard to the issue, as the “sexist” remarks being scorned in #5  amounted to this:

I understand that Senator Clinton, periodically when she’s feeling down, launches attacks as a way of trying to boost her appeal.

– Barack Obama, February 15, 2008

Can you see the rampant sexism?  Well, just in case you don’t, I gave you a hint.  Obama was clearly making a veiled reference to the woman’s menstruation cycle, right?  Well, Big Tent thought so, delivering an emphatic cyber finger wag (emphasis mine):

In a campaign marked by news coverage unrelenting in its sexism and misogyny, especially from NBC, the last thing we can afford is sexism from the frontrunning candidate. Barack Obama needs to apologize for this remark.

And, naturally, it didn’t take long for Mr. Tent to be deservedly mocked:

Pretending this is a sexist attack is as stupid as pretending that when Clinton called Obama a “kid” means he was calling him a “boy,” which of course means Clinton was actually calling Obama the n-bomb. That was stupid. This assertion is stupid. Not to mention, we know that the Hillary campaign, as a strategy, has decided to go negative and challenge Obama to debates in order to… boost Hillary’s appeal.

(I’d give that the Wonder Palm if I could.) 

Anyway, what might be happening here is some sort of phenomenon that has emerged in the form of a Clinton supporter’s irrational response to the Obama tidal wave; a sort of knee-jerk and intellectually dishonest reaction that might be confused with the sentiments of a bona-fide Weenie:

weenie.jpg
6 comments

  1. Chen,

    LOL! You think we Republicans are mean spirited and vindictive, wait until the Hillary and Bill machine take you Obama guys thru the ringer. For me, this is like watching celebrity boxing. I thought you Clinton and Obama fans were all kissing cousins?

    Your man Obama has about as much a chance of alleviating the polarization in this country as I do of becoming the pope. Sorry, I can’t help but laugh at just how ugly this is all going to get in about seven months. It will look like a war compared to the brawl we’ve been having the last seven years.

    OH! And miracle of miracles. I actually think you have a legitimate point on this one. Of course it’s petty and desperate.


  2. What’s wrong with a male feminist?


  3. I hope this goes over big with all you Obama lovers. He’s married to the woman…Unbelievable.

    “What we have learned over this year is that hope is making a comeback. It is making a comeback. And let me tell you something — for the first time in my adult lifetime, I am really proud of my country. And not just because Barack has done well, but because I think people are hungry for change. And I have been desperate to see our country moving in that direction and just not feeling so alone in my frustration and disappointment. I’ve seen people who are hungry to be unified around some basic common issues, and it’s made me proud.” ~ Michelle Obama

    http://www.breitbart.tv/html/49244.html


  4. He’s at it again.


  5. […] jokes by a comedian friend of Obama’s into the proper perspective.   Still, as I’ve highlighted before, there are plenty of Weenies out there, so maybe I really am missing out on the opportunity […]


  6. As the expert, I can assist. Together we can find he decision.



Leave a Reply

