h1

Good News For Playstation 3 Owners

February 17, 2008

Blu-Ray won.

10 comments

  1. Hey Chen,

    Legitimate question for you ‘kids’ in the know. Does this mean I should wait before purchasing another DVD player to see how the standards fall out?

    I don’t need a Betamax when VHS is the chosen one, so to speak and dating myself.


  2. Tex- It really doesn’t matter unless you have an HDTV. If you do, you can buy a blu-ray player at any time, the regular old DVD’s will play on it too.


  3. I have HDTV. Should I wait for a year or so or for the market to saturate and the prices to fall?


  4. Let me guess: In about 10 years time, people will look back and find enough reasons to mourn the demise of HD-DVD. I don’t know what they’ll come up with, but history has the strange habit of repeating itself..


  5. Sphinx,

    Let me guess: In about 10 years time, people will look back and find enough reasons to mourn the demise of HD-DVD. I don’t know what they’ll come up with, but history has the strange habit of repeating itself..

    You’re probably right. I can still remember folks mourning the Betamax vs VHS thing years after VHS becoming the standard. Something about Betamax still being superior. Same with Apple vs. PC in the business world.


  6. I remember having and watching one of those Betamax tapes a long time ago. Only advantage I can recall was those tapes being only very slightly more portable. And I couldn’t care less about what kind of Computer is the norm, as long as it runs Linux 🙂

    Format wars can be quite interesting sometimes..


  7. Tex,

    You can pick up a Blu-Ray player for $300-400 right now. They’ll probably drop to half that price by Christmas. At this time last year they were $1,000-1,500. I think it’s worth the $300 now. The picture quality is ridiculously good.


  8. mrnastyraps February 18, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Thank You! I’ll take a look.


  9. I’m looking to buy a new laptop and right now I really want a Blu Ray writer. I’ve been told that it’s another $350-400 (USD). Any chance that price will come down within the next six months?


  10. I’m not an expert on blu-ray writers for laptops, but I’d have to assume that the price would come down (like everything else in this industry).



Leave a Reply

