h1

Clinton’s Last Stand

February 26, 2008

Well this is it, the final week before what could be the fateful moment in Hillary Clinton’s campaign.  Over the last few days, it’s become clear to everyone that she is trying everything in the book to regain her momentum (and perhaps a few things that aren’t in the book).  Indeed, even a casual political observer would conclude that her campaign is throwing everything they have at Barack Obama, hoping that something –anything– will stick.   From today’s NYT:

 After struggling for months to dent Senator Barack Obama’s candidacy, the campaign of Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton is now unleashing what one Clinton aide called a “kitchen sink” fusillade against Mr. Obama, pursuing five lines of attack since Saturday in hopes of stopping his political momentum.

The effort underscores not only Mrs. Clinton’s recognition that the next round of primaries — in Ohio and Texas on March 4 — are must-win contests for her. It also reflects her advisers’ belief that they can persuade many undecided voters to embrace her at the last minute by finally drawing sharply worded, attention-grabbing contrasts with Mr. Obama.

Yep, “kitchen sink” sums it up pretty well.  So well, in fact, that I couldn’t help myself:

kitchen-sink.jpg

The problem I see is that I think your average voter can see right through this.  It reeks of desperation, and the scent overshadows whatever message she’s trying to get out there.  That, and with such a convoluted volley, it’s hard to discern what that message is. 

Anyway, it sets the stage for an interesting debate tonight.

4 comments

  1. If Hillary does not win in the primary me and my family of 15 have decidecd noyt to vote at all I saw a pic of Obama way back and I did not like seeing hoim looking at the ground while others were pledging allegience to our American fLAGSad to say 1 time I heard the terrorist I wont say whom say “we woill get Ameerica from within. Well maybe so it is scary Mc CXain is too old for that job


  2. Maybe we will be had from within. If u lisrten to Obama stutter a lot it tells me he is not sure what he says so stuttersI hope all does nto find out a year from now they put the wrong one in I am for Hillary because of experience maybe not allher ideas are good but Oboma says the same thoing over and over agasin I am tired of hearing it I know what he is going to say atLets elect Mickey Mouse every debate All I can saay is God Bless America


  3. My 16-year-old daughter saw some clips of Clinton on the news yesterday and asked me what was up with her — she seemed so nasty and upset. I told my daughter that she was watching a desperate woman do anything and everything to try to dig out of a deep hole, and that unfortunately it would probably get worse. I just hope that Texas and Ohio will help solidify Obama rather than make the situation even uglier.


  4. Yes Helen you are right. Obama is a closet Muslim intruder who is really working for Al Qeada. He is, scratch that, was secretly working to bring down America by first becoming president. Then he was going to take over the world.

    Too bad you had to go and expose him and “bust” this nice little conspiracy up. Now who will be left to destroy America?

    derrrr. lol.



Leave a Reply

