h1

29.4

June 3, 2008

As it now reads in my sidebar, I’ve been employing different hypermiling techniques in an attempt to average 30 MPG in my modified 2000 Cougar V6.  Interestingly, my last tank was the closest yet:

I say interestingly because I did spend a couple of work commutes sitting in heavy traffic this last week.  This commute is probably 90% highway miles, and I’ve used that number when entering my mileage data onto the various websites I use to track my progress.  It leads me to believe that I should be able to get a 30 MPG tank if I have a lucky week of steady traffic flow.   Get outta my way Minnesota!   I’m sooo close!

Also, I noticed that Miles O’Brien and CNN has jumped on board, and posted a rather informative (and humorous) piece on hypermiling:

They mentioned one of my new online hangouts, CleanMPG.com, and I’m guessing that’s the reason why the site has this message posted at the top of the page (as of this writing):

Our server is currently experiencing a very high load with the recent increase in traffic. Please be patient with page load times — we are in the process of acquiring the means to upgrade our server hardware. If you would like to help us with this effort, please donate using the PayPal form at the bottom right of the homepage. Thank you!!

That stinks…it’s been down all day.

Anyway….take that oil man!

Leave a Reply

