h1

Yes, Yes, YES!

June 11, 2008

Take that oil man!  Yeeeeaaa!!!!!

To be exact, the last tank for Slow and Low made it to 30.009 mpg, and I am now an “expert” hypermiler:

I think it might have been that last 300 feet I coasted into the gas station.  Seriously.

Update:  It should be noted that I use the figures of 10% and 90% only as a best guess as to the percentages for my daily commute to work, and I just use them as a default.  Some days are better than others here in the Twin Cities, and often I find myself in gridlock on the interstate.

12 comments

  1. General Chen,

    From the looks of it, I’d say that Cougar has about 50lbs of pressure in those tires? I don’t see a squat at all!

    And as long as you’re not impeding traffic, I say go for that hypermiling thingie. I might try it myself. I was pretty proud of driving my daughter to evaluate a college and getting 33mpg in my Acura TL, all highway (with the air conditioner blasting). I wonder what it would have done without the air conditioning?


  2. Tex-

    They are Z rated tires that are at 40 psi; there isn’t a lot of room for sidewall bulge there.

    I’ve seen mixed reports on the A/C thing. It doesn’t make that much difference on the highway, since driving with the windows down produces significant aerodynamic drag.


  3. I’ve seen mixed reports on the A/C thing. It doesn’t make that much difference on the highway, since driving with the windows down produces significant aerodynamic drag.

    Makes since for a larger engined motor since the A/C doesn’t put a significant drag. But on a 4 cylinder car, I’d like to see that measured.


  4. Makes sense…ARRRRGGGHHH.

    Note to self: Don’t watch Rambo while you correspond.


  5. Tex-

    You’re right, every vehicle varies somewhat, but the rule of thumb that I keep seeing everywhere is if you are above 45 mph you’re better off rolling up the windows and turning on the A/C.

    Of course, the best is to have the windows up and the A/C off, so luckily I live in Minnesota. 😉

    BTW- Rambo rocks! Did you see my review I posted a while back?


  6. BTW- Rambo rocks! Did you see my review I posted a while back?

    Sure did. I’ll finish it tonight. I started falling asleep before we got to the action sequences. It happens when you get old.

    I’ll let you know what I thought when finished.


  7. Chen,

    I finished it (Rambo). Absolutely no redeeming value at all – wooden acting included.

    But if you like blood and guts, this was it.

    I give it a 6 out of 10.


  8. Oh yea. It is what it is, and never really pretended to be anything different.


  9. Update:

    I hit 30.5 mpg on my last tank. Not bad. But I know that there is a 32 mpg with this Cougar’s name on it. I just feel it. (actually, I figure that with a good week of traffic conditions, combined with eliminating the need for things like last-minute high-speed beer runs, I can smash the goal).


  10. It’s summer.

    You live in Minnesota.

    Flat.

    Why aren’t you riding a bike?


  11. Gordon-

    A 20 mile trek to work daily would be a bit much, don’t ya think?


  12. Dude thats awesome. I don’t know how you got the determination to do that, but then again, any car can do anything, you just have to have the right tools. How long did it take you?

    http://culturedecoded.wordpress.com



Leave a Reply

