h1

32.28 MPG! A Plateau For Slow And Low?

July 2, 2008

I’m outta control!

OK, I’m going to come clean here.  For this most recent tank, I made an effort to avoid using the Coug to run short errands (I rode my bike), or going to lunch at work (for that I borrowed a car on the lot; one of the benefits of working at a dealership).  In other words, these miles were almost all work commute, which is about 90% highway.  Also, I had the benefit of very little gridlock this last week or so.  Still, that’s knocking the cover off the proverbial ball by just about any measure. 

Is this about as good as I can expect from this machine?   Not sure.  The next logical step, I suppose, is to purchase and install a ScanGauge, and use it to really tweak my driving habits.   With that little gizmo I could discover the cruising speed at which Slow and Low achieves maximum fuel economy, since at this point I’m not exactly sure if its at 55, 60, or even 70mph (I’ve been setting the cruise at 60, which is the speed limit on 694).  Also, since it gives real-time MPG readings, I could really master the throttle and the most efficient acceleration.   Could I drop some more weight, add some aero mods, and employ even more hypermiling techniques?  I suppose.  With that, maybe I could squeeze another mile or two out of a gallon.  Maybe.

 

5 comments

  1. i’m not proud of this, but….”yawn”


  2. Well I get a consistent 50 mpg, and that’s with quick starts. With extreme hypermiling, I’ve gotten 64 mpg.

    Course, I ride a motorcycle 😉 You, being in Minnesota, only have the option for, like, what, . . . 3 days a year?

    Enjoy


  3. Well, dead rabbit, that is about 10mpg above the EPA ratings for this car (or close to 150%), so in light of your response to the ‘patriotism’ thread, I’m not sure what the “yawn’s” all about. Unless, I suppose, you’re getting 175% in your ride.


  4. i know. I said i wasn’t proud of my gut reaction to this stuff.


  5. […] starters, I believe that one of the main reasons why I was able to achieve 32.28 MPG (135% of the EPA’s ratings) on my last tank in the Cougar was because of my strict […]



Leave a Reply

