h1

Gimme A Break, Banned Again?

September 1, 2008

I know I can push bloggers’ buttons sometimes, and on a couple of occasions it has gotten me banished by the more sensitive types.  This one, however, is just plain ridiculous. 

Yesterday, like many bloggers, I was trying to get a handle on the rumor flying around that Bristol Palin was the mother of Trig, and somewhere along the lines I stumbled upon this post at the Wake Up America blog: Risks Of Reporting Rumor As News About Sarah Palin’s Baby Trig and Daughter Bristol

Long story made short, I noticed that the author (Susan) had posted pics of Sarah Palin that appeared to show her in later stages of pregnancy (as an attempt to debunk the rumor), so I figured that I’d chime in, announce that I was going to play devil’s advocate, and link to this:

You know, hey, someone outta mention it as a possibility, right?  Heck, even Ann Althouse mentioned it, and she had been putting more effort into debunking this rumor than just about anyone.  But it would appear that I had struck a nerve:

I highlight the “Edited By Siteowner” because, if you scroll through the comments section of the thread, you’ll notice that I wasn’t the only netizen who had a comment disappear.  In fact, when I came back to the thread later this evening, I counted at least a dozen of them that had been censored.   As to what the offensive material was, I guess I’ll never know, but judging by my standard, it could probably be assumed that it would have been any dissent (even that which was prefaced by the disclaimer “playing devil’s advocate”).  So, I scratched my head, thought for a second, and posted this:

Wow, my comment got deleted as well?

I’ve got to wonder, with half of the comments here going down the memory hole, why did you even bother with this thread? As you mention in the title, you “risk” participating in the nonsense just by posting it, but we’re to walk on eggshells simply discussing it here in the comments section? I’m confused.

The response to that comment didn’t take to long.   Or, I should say, the deletion of it didn’t take too long, followed by the, well…this:

Pretty weak, eh?  Especially when you consider the comments disclaimer over there:

Note from Wake Up America management: This section is for comments from Wake Up America Readers. Debate and disagreement are welcome, but Bush Bashing will be deleted. We can have discussion in a civilized manner and just because you cannot bash does not mean you cannot discuss and disagree or criticize. Anyone that does not know how to separate those things, shouldn’t be speaking anyway. STICK TO THE ISSUE OF THE POST you are commenting on. A reminder: Anyone who fails to comply with our rules of commenting will lose their posting privilege.

I think it would go without saying…what a crock.  But oh well.  It’s Susan’s blog.  She can do whatever she wants to, just like this is the Chamber, and I can do whatever I want to.  So, I think I’ll just post this:

17 comments

  1. I’ve only banned a tiny number of people from my blog over the years.

    There’s a couple of genuine PUMA loons who I’ve banned and I had a racist who kept making threats at Obama who I banned. What you describe is plain silly. The subject you posted about is frontpage everywhere.

    One thing that cracks me up is how sensitive the NYT’ can be to critics. I’ve posted on their articles a few times and they erased my comments. At the NYT’ they only like praise!


  2. Hey I saw you left a comment over there. Nice going. The countdown to deletion starts…

    Ya know, sometimes I wonder why I even mention stuff like this on my blog. I guess I like to call out people who are so weak or full of themselves that they’d rather ban and delete people than just debate or rebut (or ignore). As a fellow blogger, it really shows a personality flaw I think. ‘Cause you’re right, in this case, the story was everywhere, and for some reason Susan so sensitive to the thought that Bristol Palin might be reading the free blog Wake Up America and get offended when people mention it in the comments section of a thread on the very topic. There’s some delusion or disconnect there, right?

    Anyway, I saved your comment over there. I have a feeling it will disappear, and I liked it.


  3. Lame.

    What is fun about preaching to the choir? Most of the fun of political blogging is the discussion and debate it promotes.


  4. Yea Red Pill, it was lame.

    I guess at this point, I should consider an addition to the sidebar here in the Chamber. If my count is correct, there are now 4 sites that deem me too threatening.


  5. LOL. The lady brings up the rumor as the center of discussion then can’t stand when the blog attracts people who are discussing the plausibility of the rumor. Given that at the time, there was a pregnancy that wasn’t yet explained within the Palin family, its no wonder those stupid rumors went wild. One has to wonder if those rumors led to an earlier disclosure of the truth. Although, many at the Daily Kos were acting as if they were reporting factual information, which was irritating.


  6. For all you trolls who think trashing a 17 year old is okay, I’d appreciate a run down of what Chelsea Clinton was doing at 17.

    I see my post was deleted (just as Chen said you people delete posts you disagree with) so I will repost it.

    At 17, Chelsea Clinton was taking college preparatory courses in preparation to go to Stanford University where she went on to graduate with a 4.0.

    Next?


  7. Christopher, that is WAY too easy.

    Was she having sex? If so, with who? What positions? Any abortions?

    Answer those then you’ll start to have an even comparison.


  8. The fact that this issue is even “news” shows how pathetic “the politic” have become in America. The perfect example of people, whose life is so meaningless, they feel it necessary to see if they can dig any dirt up for their side; even if it means ruining children’s lives.

    No matter who wins, America in its present state is finished and we need to wake up to that simple fact. There is no glue holding us together anymore and we need to quit pretending there is.


  9. Digging dirt is a fact of politics; God knows I’m glad some people “dug” some dirt up on Obama.

    First of all, let me make perfectly clear what a bunch of rancid liars the Daily Kos was with that tripe rumor they pretended was fact.

    On the other hand, the pregnancy is fair game for conversation and judgment, at least to some degree. First of all, while I feel one should speak of Palin’s daughter with dignity, I feel she is old enough to handle it. I was 17 when I was in the military. (That simple, solo sentence keeps getting deleted at Wake Up America)

    I think we are fooling ourselves if we think family matters count for nothing when deciding on a candidate. Example: If candidate X had three daughters who were underage prostitutes, certainly this would be valid information when making a judgment of candidate X’s character.

    Bedsides, many of the same people who are angry that Palin’s daughter has become a part of the discussion are, on the other hand, using the pregnancy of the same 17 year old girl as a positive, pro-life example. Cake and eating it?

    According to Tex et al, we should not be mentioning the pregnancy at all. The fact is, the day when an early pregnancy out of wed lock goes with out any societal consequence is a day that scares me much more then a 17 year old in the public lime light.


  10. I seem to be banned over there as well. serves me right for straying from the comforts of the chamber. i won’t leave again


  11. I think maybe Christopher got banned as well. Geez. Just an absolute orgy of exiling over there.

    And I love that technique where she deletes the comment and overwrites with her own; something totalitarian about that.


  12. Chen,

    What they practice over there is what they call in psychology, “asking dishonest questions.”

    Lew asked: “For all you trolls who think trashing a 17 year old is okay, I’d appreciate a run down of what Chelsea Clinton was doing at 17.”

    I posted: “At 17, Chelsea Clinton was taking college preparatory courses in preparation to go to Stanford University where she went on to graduate with a 4.0.”

    I checked back the next day and my post was deleted. There was no vulgarity and no troll baiting. I posted there exactly what I posted here. So, I reposted it. Guess what. Lew deleted my post.

    You see, Lew has an agenda. He didn’t want to see anything positive posted about Chelsea Clinton. Had I posted something awful like, “She was hanging out at truck stops blowing truck drivers for $5 dollars to buy cocaine,” my guess is, my post would still be up today.

    In fact, when I challenged Lew, he launched into a rather sick rant about what sexual positions Chelsea engages in. He’s a sick puppy, just like 98% of rightwingers. His blog is a good place to avoid.

    Next?


  13. I think its Susan’s blog though. Not positive.


  14. dude, i’m from the right and i was banned too. your as bad as he is with stupid generalizations like that.


  15. Actually, people are pretty adept at “Coming together.”

    We call it sex.

    In fact, it’s one of the few acts in which people on both sides of the aisle can find mutual pleasure.

    If Palin had her way, that too would be regulated by the Government (Unless, of course, you’re her daughter. Then she’d parade you around in front of the cameras like a trained monkey).

    Alas…


  16. rabbit,

    According to Tex et al, we should not be mentioning the pregnancy at all. The fact is, the day when an early pregnancy out of wed lock goes with out any societal consequence is a day that scares me much more then a 17 year old in the public lime light.

    I don’t know what the hell you’re talking about but you obviously misunderstood the context of my comment. The fact of the matter is rabbit, nobody screams louder at the coarsening of the culture.

    But the fact that we take some 17 year old girl and drag her through the mud for political reasons makes me sick.

    But I love your piety…


  17. Fairlane makes the perfect Dim for Obama…

    If Palin had her way, that too would be regulated by the Government (Unless, of course, you’re her daughter. Then she’d parade you around in front of the cameras like a trained monkey).

    But “it” has got no problem with 50MM babies being scalded, butchered, or shredded in their mother’s womb…all in the name of “choice”, of course.

    VOTE OBAMA!



Leave a Reply

