h1

Safe Prediction For Hannity’s Palin Interview

September 13, 2008

Well, the much-discussed interview Sarah Palin had with ABC’s Charles Gibson is over, and the word around the campfire is that she was treated unfairly.  Luckily for her, the next scheduled sit-down will be with my pal Sean Hannity.  Why luckily?  Well, let’s just say that I can sum up the interview with two images:

Exit thought:  I’m getting a kick out of all the pundits rushing in to defend Palin’s “Bush Doctrine” response during Gibson pt. 1.   In general, the spin is something along the lines of “even the experts can’t agree on what it is!” .  Well, that may be true.  But while we may debate on what the “Bush Doctrine” is, there should be universal agreement that “his worldview” it is …not.  It’s her initial response that the defenders conveniently leave out.

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

Update: Jay over at Newshoggers offers up some potential questions that Hannity might “toss” at Palin.

Last Update:  Olbermann broke the Hannity interview down last night, and even used the word “softball”:

Reform!

29 comments

  1. Actually, I’d argue that it just might be his worldview. Of course, I don’t think she quite meant what I mean by that … because I mean that I don’t think Bush’s worldview has a whole lot of points to it, so it can be summed up with about one statement.

    Anyway … I’m willing to defend her on that point; I really don’t care if she knows the pundit-coined term “Bush doctrine.”

    That being said … you’re right about a Hannity interview. Expect such hard-hitting questions as, “Do you think that ‘awesome’ or ‘amazing’ is the best word to describe you?”


  2. Well, I would at least expect a potential VP to be able to comment intelligently on the most significant shift in US foreign policy in decades. A shift that led to the very war effort that her own son has just left to join.

    But that’s just me.


  3. I think it humorous that Wickle, the closet lib, and General Chen, the flaming lib, are concerned about knowledge or lack thereof of some cliche.

    Since Charles Krauthammer, the one that coined the phrase, said Palin was correct and Charlie Gibson, another flaming lib, wrong, General you’re really stretching to come up with something aren’t you?

    I thought Palin’s retort quite good. This lady has shaken you lefties clear to the bone and turned this entire election on its head.

    P.S. – I thought that picture General some whitey being forced to kiss the atrocious Michelle’s boot, but then I guess it is a matter of perspective. Of course, I realized I was wrong when I


  4. TEACH ME TO CHECK MY KEYS…

    (CONTINUED)

    P.S. – I thought that picture General some whitey being forced to kiss the atrocious Michelle’s boot, but then I guess it is a matter of perspective. Of course, I realized I was wrong when I realized he wasn’t kissing her ass.


  5. Ummm … Tex, not to bother you with facts, but … did you notice that I said I don’t care if she knows the cliche?

    ChenZhen and I disagree on this point.

    As to discussing policy, CZ, she did. When Gibson actually got around to asking a specific question, she gave a pretty clear answer. As I said in my own post, one can agree or disagree, but it was a clear and defensible position.

    If the question had been about the Monroe Doctrine, I’d be with you … everyone should know that term and I’d be willing to discount a Presidential or Vice-Presidential contender who couldn’t explain it in detail. “Bush doctrine” doesn’t rise to the same level.


  6. Wickle,

    Not to bother your bother, but if I’ve ever read anything apparently short of facts, I need go further than your own personal blog.

    What a trainwreck…


  7. I would have thought that any honest observer would have concluded that she probably had never heard the term before, and if Gibson would have let her go on about it, she really would have made a fool of herself. You could see it in her face.

    Although I think he’s being a tad arrogant in assuming that he owns the term, Krauthammer was correct in that the definition has evolved to encompass a more broad set of policies. In the piece I linked above, he stated:

    …This “with us or against us” policy regarding terror — first deployed against Pakistan when Secretary of State Colin Powell gave President Musharraf that seven-point ultimatum to end support for the Taliban and support our attack on Afghanistan — became the essence of the Bush Doctrine.

    Until Iraq. A year later, when the Iraq War was looming, Bush offered his major justification by enunciating a doctrine of pre-emptive war. This is the one Charlie Gibson thinks is the Bush doctrine.

    Incidentally, this is the definition that I think has the most recognition, which is why both Gibson and the NYT and plenty of others stated what they did in response.

    But Palin’s problem was, even after Gibson clarified that he wasn’t talking about something in Krauthammer’s 2001 editorial or Bush’s second inaugural address (or his “worldview” lol), she still didn’t know what he was referring to. Instead of offering up an opinion about going to war with a country that hadn’t attacked us, she winged it with, as Allahpundit put it, “platitudes about stopping Islamic extremism”, and giving token recognition to “blunders along the way”.

    It was pretty much a train wreck. But it could have been a lot worse. In a way, Gibson kinda bailed her out.

    But not to worry, she’ll have plenty of time to study up for the not-so-objective Hannity, and she’ll ace it.


  8. Chen, you should post a picture of some scissors to represent the ABC interview. Or maybe a butcher-knife would be more appropriate.

    The questions may not have been unfair, but the editting of her answers sure was.

    The media continues to destroy its integrity, and then wonders why Palin and McCain don’t want to talk to them.


  9. Well, we’ll have to agree to disagree, ChenZhen. I don’t think that the term is that important, you do.

    Since neither of us is going to vote for her, anyway, I suppose that it’s silly just to bicker about it.


  10. Come on Tex, Palin’s answer about the Bush Doctrine wasn’t satisfactory. I’m just “da guy who works on da docks”, and I know it has 3 points which have kind of evolved over time. She needed to acknowledge that.

    I couldn’t believe ABC’s editing of that interview. Case in point: Charlie asks Palin about gun control. ABC slices in pictures of a black guy shot dead in the street, while Palin begins to answer. The use of photographs were clearly used to criticize Palin’s stance. This was done several times.

    By the time interview ended, I thought Palin actually did pretty well. Charlie was obviously not interviewing her for the sake of America understanding her more, but trying to produce a gaffe. He got his gaffe. Cool. Now let’s list Obama’s list of blunders on foreign policy. What do you say Chen, wanna start with Iran?


  11. By the way, Chen, your blog was actually kind of funny today. The pics cracked me up. And let me also point out, your total obsession with Palin is entering the 3rd week. Man she’s in your head.


  12. Come on Tex, Palin’s answer about the Bush Doctrine wasn’t satisfactory. I’m just “da guy who works on da docks”, and I know it has 3 points which have kind of evolved over time. She needed to acknowledge that.

    I can’t really say Rabbit what Palin’s immediate context was in processing, anymore than I can really say what Obama’s real intent with the “lipstick” comment. I do know in an interview, especially a gotcha interview like that, it is very easy to have a brain fart. I know, I’ve done it myself.

    I disagree with you Palin’s answer wasn’t satisfactory as does the guy who coined the cliche “Bush Doctrine.” The fact that Palin can’t define the term doesn’t mean she doesn’t understand its premise because her retort to Gibson did exactly that. In fact, I found her answer quite eloquent being she was put on the spot – a hell of a lot more eloquent than the three clowns she’s been paired with.


  13. rabbit-

    By the way, Chen, your blog was actually kind of funny today. The pics cracked me up. And let me also point out, your total obsession with Palin is entering the 3rd week. Man she’s in your head.

    I do have my moments!

    And I think she’s in everyone’s head. In her I see so many parallels with Bush, but she appears to be popular. Why? It’s buggin’ the heck out of me.


  14. Hey General,

    I saw where a few of the former, banned football gang (that would include you and me) have started a littlegreenfootballs2 and I left a comment? LOL

    I was shamelessly going to put a plug in for your forum because all of these forums are unnecessary if you ask me. You’re a loon, but a good hearted one – at least you have been to me.

    What they ought to do is to come over here like I have. You do have a functional site and you don’t censor. Kind of like LGF used to be.

    But I didn’t want to mention your site without your permission.

    There is one danger. You could go from having one Tex to a multitude of smart asses which would quickly overwhelm the lackey lightweights.

    I’m sure your intent is not to suddenly have a Conservative blog. What do you think?


  15. “You could go from having one Tex to a multitude of smart asses which would quickly overwhelm the lackey lightweights.” -Tex Taylor

    Tex, I’m a big fish in this little pond. Thanks for trying to ruin that.


  16. Tex-

    I’m kinda surprised that you didn’t post over there under your original lgf nic, ’cause otherwise I don’t know if they know who the heck you are.

    I’ve been over there several times, but its just one of quite a few hangouts for former lgfers.

    There is one danger. You could go from having one Tex to a multitude of smart asses which would quickly overwhelm the lackey lightweights.

    I’m sure your intent is not to suddenly have a Conservative blog. What do you think?

    Not really afraid of that. In my prime at lgf, I was taking on the whole dojo all by myself, after all. But here, I’ve got the emblems!

    The lgf2 guys already know about my site though, and they seem too busy with what they’re doing.


  17. Rabbit,

    Tex, I’m a big fish in this little pond. Thanks for trying to ruin that.

    That comment actually did make me laugh outloud. Nah, not you Rabbit – you’re unique in this room and I enjoy your posts, even those few times I tend to disagree.

    I’m talking about the numbnuts Bush hatin’ crowd who blame him for everything to mom’s rheumatoid arthritis to their low checking account balance.


  18. I left the NIC this morning what my name was which started off as a joke. Charlie never responded to my request to change it so it stuck.

    Tex is easier to type.


  19. Hannity will eat Palin’s pussy. The interview will be one of the most nauseating spectacles in modern history and one I refuse to watch because I don’t watch FIXED Noise. In fact, I have it blocked on my cable.


  20. Hannity will eat Palin’s pussy.

    For the first time in my life, I find myself jealous of Sean Hannity…

    Classy Christopher!


  21. Ewww! Ok, that’s just not right.

    Anyway, the interview is tonight, so I’ll update this thread afterwards, and see how accurate my prediction was.


  22. Everything is going to be alright Chen, no manner the Sean/Palin interview.

    I read were Obamessiah has got the traveling teleprompter to lead y’all into the promised land of Gehanna…

    The teleprompter alone is worth 10 bobble-headed percentage points.


  23. Ahh…I was looking all over, and finally had to ask some of the netizens over at C&L. The interview has apparently been postponed.


  24. The interview has apparently been postponed

    When word got out “The Chamber” was on to them about softball interviews, I understand from good sources that Sean Hannity begin quaking with fear and cancelled.


  25. The Old Coot is canceling ads with McCandy.

    Apparently, the novelty of the Caribou Barbie and her beauty pageant responses to the media, coupled with the lurid tales of her tenure as mayor of the meth capital of Alaska — Wasilla, and unethical time as governor, is taking their toll.

    McCandy’s favorable numbers have dropped 10 points in 5 days.

    It’s looking more and more like the Old Coot made a big, tactical error and should’ve put Joementum on the ticket after all.


  26. My prediction did indeed prove to be a safe one (see update).


  27. Just as I suspected. Keith Olbermann. I shall ask that you refrain from ever complaining about Fox News again if you are going to reference this man as serious perspective.


  28. So you’re saying that I’m wrong, and that Hannity really grilled her?


  29. Not any less than Gibson grilled Obama.



Leave a Reply

