h1

Oh, What The Heck

October 24, 2008

I’ve been resisting the temptation to comment on this bizarre Ashley Todd mugging hoax fiasco, but I just can’t hold it in anymore.

Well, on second thought, I think instead I’ll comment on the stupidest of the stupid things I’ve seen said on the subject.  After visiting dozens of blogs and news sites, and watching the coverage on the cable news networks, I’m going to give the prize to none other than the VP of Fox News, John Moody, posting this (before the fact that the gal made it all up came out):

If Ms. Todd’s allegations are proven accurate, some voters may revisit their support for Senator  Obama, not because they are racists (with due respect to Rep. John Murtha), but because they suddenly feel they do not know enough about the Democratic nominee.

If the incident turns out to be a hoax, Senator McCain’s quest for the presidency is over, forever linked to race-baiting.

So let me get this straight.  Mr. Moody was making the claim that the outcome of this 2-year long campaign could hinge on this singular, isolated incident?  Forget, for a moment, that the incident was later revealed to be a hoax, what the hell kind of ridiculous notion is that?  Because his network made a big deal out of it?

And why in the world would voters “revisit their support for Senator Obama” based on an ugly mugging?   I just don’t get it.  The only thing that makes sense to me is that this guy is really revealing his inner thoughts, and not offering some insight on what he feels “some voters” might think.  It looks like a strawman concocted by -as Andrew Sullivan put it- a racist of massive proportions (and my readers would know that I certainly don’t toss the “racist” label flippantly).  Or, put another way, Moody is attempting to convince his readers that Obama supporters like myself should revisit our support because of the alleged actions of one big crazy black man.  And not because we’re racist, of course, but because it seems logical?

The bottom line is this: Any objective observer can see that, real or staged, this incident has no bearing on the candidates, the campaigns, or the myriad of important issues of the day, regardless of what the Drudges or the Fox VP’s of the world want. 

 

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

27 comments

  1. Drudge Report just gave me another laugh today. I removed the Drudge Report from my bookmarks list because I felt it over-exaggerated and I’m sick of sensationalized, blaring headlines.
    Its really funny how conservative whack jobs thought they had something working in their favor with this story. Why do they keep doing the Obama campaign a favor by acting this way?
    It was a very amusing story and I’m happy she got caught.


  2. First, I am SO delighted they threw her racist lying ass in jail. Second, thank goodness for good old fashioned, non-biased police work. My wife, who has no criminal justice background, saw the girl’s picture before it was revealed as a hoax and said “she put the ‘B’ on her face while looking in the mirror. What Obama-supporting mugger writes a B backwards?”

    The better point made on either Countdown or Rachel Maddow (I forget which) is how utterly stupid it was for McCain/Palin to get involved with this before letting the dust settle a bit. Yet another example of a totally out of control Republican campaign.


  3. The only question remaining is “Who will be the Republican Jesse Jackson, the man to come out and say ‘well, even if it didn’t actually happen this time it’s happened before and will again'”?


  4. Notice old Tex never even mentioned this. I knew this crap. The difference between my party and yours is that for the most part, I think we stay above the fray. If we didn’t, three Duke LaCrosse players would be sitting in prison right now, while an Barryite whore would be rich. And the corrupt Republican DA lost his license…

    What I would like to ask the hypocrites from above is, why are things like this never mentioned at “THE CHAMBER?”

    http://www.local6.com/politics/17784129/detail.html


  5. RANDOM THOUGHTS…

    A thought struck me today while reading thru some of the threads here. Though most of the liberals here would never mention or admit it even if they knew of it. It’s called the “Big Lie” technique.

    The old Soviet Bloc and Nazi Germany used it to perfection for a time but like everything morally corrupt, it eventually crumbles.

    For those who don’t know of the BIG LIE, it goes something like this: That even if everyone knows they are being lied to, they will believe some of what they hear.

    Remember the old USSR? Everyone knew that Pravda was lying. But most of the Russians still believed all sorts of crazy things about America.

    And it struck me that along with the inherent built-in bias of having no real moral foundation, this is pretty much what our MSM practices. Some of you guys here on WordPress play a small party to that.

    What I have quite figured out and it keeps me coming back is if it is done purposely or out of woeful ignorance.


  6. Sorry,

    Replace have with have not and my above post will make much more sense…time for bed Tex.


  7. This kind of stuff is brought about by things like the McCain rallies where there has been so much incitement by Sarah Palin and her use of language!!
    The McCain campaign has been nothing more than disgraceful and both he and that Sarah will I’m sure
    live to regret their actions as I’m sure it has lost them some “friends”.
    McCain cannot think he is “honorable” after this!!


  8. Wow….just wow….this is what I get for taking a news break.


  9. Tex,
    I think believing only “some” of what we hear from the MSM over the percentage belief from the average fox news/Rush Limbaugh patron is probably a big gap.

    I mean sometimes there’s an actual nugget of truth to what they say. Sometimes…

    As for ASHLEY TODD and Fox News, and i use all caps because its my distinct hope that people remember her name for a while, I had been struck by the same dumb article.

    What struck me about it is that Fox was trying to get an “i told you” so for a story before it happened, and in this case it never happened. It was an attempt to write the narrative before it happens, which shows you precisely how capable of a fair and balanced news our MSM is actually capable of nowadays.


  10. I can’t find any comments made by McCain that shows support for the initial story. If someone has a link I can’t find via Google and Yahoo let me know.
    It is sad that the Right blogosphere took this stupidity seriously and on full throttle. I instantly came to the conclusion it was BS for the following. It was obviously superficial. O is better for an Obama “message” and O is by far easier to carve into someone. I and Z being the only other letters easier.
    I would say that I’d like to see a little less gloating on behalf of some on the Left. This female has an obvious mental illness other than supporting McCain or racism.
    Sadly in America racism exists and helps make stories go. Remember I’m from Boston and I offer the Charles Stuart “story” I was working EMS then and the irony is the guys on the street knew it was bullshit even as they were ordered out on the witch hunt for big bad black man. it is perhaps no equally sad but sad enough that stats allows for the credibility of racist charges. I am far less likely to be mugged where I am now this second than in many parts of Boston.
    As for the media whores pre/post incident I can only say Yuck


  11. Alfie, it does appear, according to Politico and some other sites, that the local McCain PA communication director tried to push the story, however, there was nothing on it from the national campaign.

    As for mental illness, maybe. Historically speaking its also not all that uncommon for something like this to result from some kind of domestic abuse and then be blamed on, as you put it, the big scary black man.

    However, as she was perp walked today and will probably be charged with some minor misdemeanor, I’m sure we’ll all find out soon enough. If she is mentally ill, I’m sure her lawyers will use that to her defense.


  12. “This kind of stuff is brought about by things like the McCain rallies where there has been so much incitement by Sarah Palin and her use of language!!”

    That’s right!! McCain and Palin saying things like “I want you to confront your neighbors and get in their faces” are only designed to incite.

    Oh wait….

    “The McCain campaign has been nothing more than disgraceful and both he and that Sarah will I’m sure
    live to regret their actions as I’m sure it has lost them some “friends”.”

    That’s right!! McCain has lost friends like his preacher, the guy that helped him buy his home, and even Jessie Jackson!!

    Oh wait….

    “McCain cannot think he is “honorable” after this!!”

    That’s right!! Because, unlike Barack Obama, John McCain is responsible for every single act performed by his supporters.

    Barack Obama, who is attempting to purchase the presidency with his hundreds of millions of dollars worth of potential campaign finance fraud, is so much more honorable than that punk McCain, who kept his campaign finance promises, and is tech savy enough to know how to turn on his web site’s credit card verification system.


  13. Would you be saying that if McCain fore-went public financing? I think not. So don’t get mad at Obama because McCain and the RNC decided to invest $150K on clothing rather then spending that money on ads.


  14. I felt it over-exaggerated and I’m sick of sensationalized, blaring headlines.

    GUFFAW! I missed this…

    Something about remove the log from your own eye before pointing to the splinter…

    What an absolute crock and a major league hypocrite!


  15. Marc-

    What struck me about it is that Fox was trying to get an “i told you” so for a story before it happened, and in this case it never happened. It was an attempt to write the narrative before it happens, which shows you precisely how capable of a fair and balanced news our MSM is actually capable of nowadays.

    Ya know, since you put it that way, I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised with what happened here. Attempting to write the narrative is pretty much par for the course with Fox and Drudge.

    OTOH, CNN picked it up too, but I think that was after the hoax was revealed.

    But I swear sometimes that these cable news guys really do sit with Drudge on the screen right in front of them at all times. The correlation of the coverage is uncanny.

    I know what you’re thinking. A wild theory? Should I give myself the Mr. Conspiracy Emblem?

    Perhaps.

    Then again, perhaps not.


  16. I can’t find any comments made by McCain that shows support for the initial story. If someone has a link I can’t find via Google and Yahoo let me know.

    Alfie, this from AFP:

    The assault reportedly prompted McCain and his running mate Sarah Palin to call Todd to offer their sympathies, while Obama’s campaign released a statement condemning the violence.


  17. Red Pill, you’ve lost me on several counts. You lump Rezko, Wright and Jesse Jackson (!) together? I get the Rezko/Wright piece … that’s an old worn out conservative crutch at this point but you’ve lost me on the Jesse Jackson reference. First, I’m not certain Jesse was ever really Obama’s friend. Second, by Jesse’s statements, he’s been the one to reject Obama not vice versa.

    As for being responsible for what your supporters do. All the candidates have nutcase surrogates for whom they have to apologize every now and then. But when you get on stage and say Obama pals around with terrorists, then you get to share some of the blame when a screwball takes that as a call to action. Further, as has been mentioned in this thread, when your campaign pumps the story (about the mutilation/sexual attack) then it should also share some blame in the hoax once it is exposed. The right thing for McCain’s campaign to do was to not touch this with a ten foot pole until further investigation had been done.

    Finally, and Red Pill I know you know this, poor people don’t get to run for President. A Presidential campaign costs big bucks and to some extent they’re all trying to buy the election. You’re just pissed that Obama managed to find over a million people willing to give an average of about $60.00 each. McCain went with public financing. Dumb move but probably the only move ‘cos he would never have been able to raise the kind of money Obama has. Compare Obama’s crowds to McCain’s and you’ll see what I mean.


  18. @R thanks for the effort. I would obviously take the position that the McCain/Palin extension of sympathy is far from an endorsement of the hoax though and pretty much a public face thing equal to Obama’s statement.


  19. Alfie,

    You’re just pissed that Obama managed to find over a million people willing to give an average of about $60.00 each. McCain went with public financing.

    Of course, Rutherford is right. Obama found 1MM people plus who will now expect a payout for their private funding from their small checking account when Obama “shares the wealth”. I would bet many are on this board. Even rubes know a good thing when they see it.

    Of course, what “R” fails to mention that I now will is that Obama somewhere changed his mind and boasted that he too would only take public funding and had a handshake agreement with McCain to do so. And then had the unmitigaged gall to say it was the Republican’s fault.

    http://blogs.abcnews.com/politicalpunch/2008/06/obama-to-break.html

    Like so many principles that Obama self imposes, this one was bent when politically convenient, a sign of things to come (like taxes). But remember Alfie, Obama is a man of his word. Or so we’ve been told…


  20. oops…Unmitigated Gall! PROOFREAD TEX, PROOFREAD!


  21. The version I’ve heard (and believe) is that Obama said he’d discuss with McCain the issue of public financing. No commitment was made. I give Obama big kudos for figuring out before it was too late, that the first black candidate from a major party is a fool not to grab every legal advantage that he can. McCain can go as negative as he wants now and he still gets drowned out by the Obama juggernaut. A brilliant political decision on Obama’s part.

    I’m too lazy and tired right now to dig up a reference but I seem to recall some flip-flopping on McCain’s part when it came to public financing. I believe it happened during the primaries. Maybe CZ, Kay or MJ can do me a favor and post a link to document it.


  22. Obama found 1MM people plus who will now expect a payout for their private funding from their small checking account when Obama “shares the wealth”. I would bet many are on this board. Even rubes know a good thing when they see it.

    Wow, Tex, you have inadvertently captured the entire point! Rather than be beholden to special interests, Obama is beholden to the millions who contributed … the real Joe Sixpacks who reached into their thin bank accounts and coughed up a buck or two. That’s democracy at its finest.


  23. “R”,

    I’ll be leaving soon because I am becoming bored. You and Rabbit have kept me here. I give you two kudos.

    Wow, Tex, you have inadvertently captured the entire point! Rather than be beholden to special interests, Obama is beholden to the millions who contributed … the real Joe Sixpacks who reached into their thin bank accounts and coughed up a buck or two. That’s democracy at its finest.

    That’s democracy at it’s finest in the liberal world. In an honorable world it used to be called a payoff.

    I expect much more of it for the next four years…


  24. @R thanks for the effort. I would obviously take the position that the McCain/Palin extension of sympathy is far from an endorsement of the hoax though and pretty much a public face thing equal to Obama’s statement.

    Alfie, the source I cited was in answer to your assertion that there was no evidence of McCain’s “support of the initial story.” Support of the initial story is not the same as endorsement of a hoax. You’re playing a time machine game here. Until the story is revealed as a hoax, you are not endorsing a hoax by supporting the story and clearly a sympathy call is evidence of belief in the story, not support of the hoax.

    Not be belabor the point, but let’s have a simple example. If Dead Rabbit claims that Tex kneed him in the nads (easy to do since by Rabbit’s own testimony, he has HUGE nads) and then CZ call Rabbit and, as leader of the WPPBA offers Rabbit sympathy, he is then supporting the story that Tex kneed Rabbit in the nads. If we find out later that Tex did no such thing, that does not suddenly erase the fact that CZ offered sympathy … when in fact CZ probably would have been wiser to withhold judgment until more investigation was done into the condition of Rabbit’s nads.

    I haven’t had this much fun making a point in a good long time. Thanks for the opportunity, Alfie. 🙂


  25. Oh btw I might add …. as Keith Olbermann so ably pointed out last night, where has John McCain been since the story was revealed as a hoax? Has he spoken out against it? Has he made it clear that racially charged false accusations have no place in our society much less in this campaign? He missed a great opportunity to show this country what a decent man he is.


  26. Rutherford,
    It’s worth mentioning that Obama extended sympathy as well prior to learning it was a falsified story.

    The truth is, whatever their good or bad judgement, the political capital that could have been gained by their opposition by holding off on an acknowledgement if the story was true, was to great for either candidate to provide.

    So they both acknowledged the initial story, probably whether they thought it unlikely or not.


  27. Rutherford. My comment & thanks were genuine as was my follow up.I don’t hink I have any HG Wells issues here. I do have a certain Robert Frost poem burning my synapses right now though. Anyway I am and will remain willing to lean on the fence and “talk” to my neighbors but man o’ man I’m totally stay on my side of the fence for now.



Leave a Reply

