h1

45 Minutes To Drive 3 Miles

December 4, 2008

On a lighter note, I thought I’d post up something about my pleasant 4 mph commuting experience today.  And no, I wasn’t travelling through downtown Minneapolis.  This was Interstate 94.

Now, usually it takes about 25 minutes for me to drive the 20 miles to work, but today was special for some reason:  Pigs on the loose cause morning traffic mess

pigs11

click for video

MAPLE GROVE — A truck carrying nearly 100 pigs overturned on Interstate 94 near Interstate 494 Thursday morning causing traffic to be snarled.

The accident happened early Thursday morning in Maple Grove near the I-94/I-494 exchange but it was not weather related.

State Patrol Lieutenant Jeff Gladfelter says that not all of the pigs stayed with the flipped tracter-trailer. “There was about 15 of them that got loose.” Gladfelter says 7 troopers and some MnDot workers were able to corral most of the pigs in a makeshift pen on the side of the highway.

I was pretty frustrated this morning, but I can’t stop laughing at that video of the cops and guys with leashes chasing pigs all over the place.   Classic.

42 comments

  1. I find swine so damn tasty that the mere site of an even toed ungulate makes my mouth water. I’m not making that up: except for lobster, it’s the only living animal that triggers a feeding response in me. I want to jump pigs and bite them.


  2. I want to jump pigs and bite them.

    I’d suggest a little wet nap action first, rabbit.


  3. I have to navigate the freeways of LA on a daily basis, 45 min to move 3 miles is commonplace here.

    As for the pigs, they have always been one of my favorite animals. Very smart creatures…if they had an opposing thumb they might take over the world.


  4. didn’t they take over a farm once?


  5. I’d like to know if any pigs were injured in the incident. Also, I’m surprised that the newsman left out the part where some eighty of the pigs stampeded into a nearby Walmart to snatch up the remaining “Dukes of Hazzard” DVD’s off the discount rack. (You know how they just love Boss Hogg!) 🙂


  6. R-

    According to the reports, a dozen or so pigs had to be put down.


  7. mmmmmmmmmmmm


  8. I’m Jewish, I’m not supposed to eat pigs…although I slip a lot.

    I do love rabbits though! :’)


  9. General,

    Your neighborhood of piggies’ story actually came across my local news tonight. You guys are now famous across the nation!

    And you’re right. I had to laugh out loud watching the locals chasing the hogs across the field. You guys need some country boys up there for assistance. Or let the Rabbit have at it with the bow.


  10. Tex-

    You guys need some country boys up there for assistance.

    Kinda funny that you mention that, ’cause as it turns out:

    There were about a hundred pigs on the truck and at least 15 got out when it flipped.

    “It’s not something we generally train for … but we tried to heard them and get them corralled into a truck,” said Graham.

    Rounding up the pigs was a big job. Pig farmers from an hour away drove into help — lassos and all.

    “Had some rope — its just kind of herding and a few things and that was about the best they could do under the circumstances, but that’s not our normal duties so we were very happy to have some assistance in that area,” said Graham.

    Of course, an hour away would’ve been subjective today.


  11. Chen, 😆

    If I had been quick enough, I would TIVO’d it for you. I was watching this (local news mind you) and I thought, what are the chances this makes the nightly news 1,000 miles away about the same time it becomes news at “THE CHAMBER?”

    Perhaps you should be a new’s editor if the lots dry up?


  12. Perhaps you should be a new’s editor if the lots dry up?

    Well, I was a few days late on the WalMart thing.


  13. Well, I was a few days late on the WalMart thing.

    But that’s excusable…you’re suffering from Obama election fatigue. I’ve noted since he won, you’ve almost seemed disinterested in blogging. I guess I didn’t realize how much you guys were pouring your heart and soul into the mess of politics.

    Perhaps you need a change of venue? Your co-workers would be prettier than the lot! 😉

    Let’s face it. I’m running on fumes anymore about commenting on blogs, and it becomes a major bore after a while (another reason I would never start my own blog). The only reason I’m commenting now is that I’m completely bored, television sucks, my wife is still 500 miles away, and the weather is cold.

    I’ve decided my New Year’s Resolution will be to frequent blog rooms about 10% of the time I do now, and start living again. It’s a hell of a lot healthier too.


  14. Wow Chen, thanks for the laugh there.


  15. I think a lot of us are suffering from Obama election fatigue. For some liberal bloggers like me and Chen, we got fired up about the campaign, got what we wanted in the end, and it’s “now what?” I’m sure for some conservative bloggers, they got fired up about the campaign, didn’t get what they wanted and now it’s “awww f**k it, what’s the use?”

    I started my blog before I got interested in the campaign so I’m returning to my original motivation which simply was, if I heard or read something on the news that gave me a kick or royally pissed me off, then it was good to write about, if for no other reason than the catharsis. There were some weeks during the campaign when I blogged four or five days a week. I think those days are gone for the time being. I’m satisfied to pop out one or two items a week.

    Tex, I agree with you that “living” is probably better physically and psychologically than blogging but I still think blogging is good for the soul.


  16. “R”,

    I agreed with everything you said but this…

    I’m sure for some conservative bloggers, they got fired up about the campaign, didn’t get what they wanted and now it’s “awww f**k it, what’s the use?”

    I actually think conservative bloggers are just gearing up. You’re going to find it’s a lot easier being critical than having to perform and defend (concerning your elected candidate of choice).

    But no doubt I do find it cathartic to come in here in slam people, especially you and Chen, if for no other reason, it’s a release. Take it as a left-handed compliment that I find you wrong and awful in most every regard. 🙂

    It’s far more interesting to debate somebody that doesn’t agree with you, than to enter some echo chamber and perform some Rockette dance. And it also the one reason I get a kick of our own Rocketman Dead Rabbit because you never know where he’s going to fall out in the mix.

    Blogging should encourage some intellectual stimulation and a debate of ideas if it’s going to be any good. Otherwise, they eventually die a slow death.


  17. General Chen or Rutherford,

    I have a favor to ask either of you, or anyone else on WordPress for that manner, and you guys have more sources.

    Concerning this pursuit of Obama’s U.S. citizenship, which I believe for the most, silly and paranoid. There is one thing bothering me and I was wondering if you guys could use your magic powers to help me.

    Obama and I are approximately the same age, with me being some months older. I have heard that Obama did not register for the Selective Service. If this is true, why was Obama not required to register like the rest of us? I guarantee you he would have been required to do so by law, but I don’t want to pursue the issue if it’s another tinfoil paranoia pursuit or lie.

    You guys or anybody else know for a fact that Obama did not register for Selective Service? I really don’t know but would like to know, if somebody would be so kind as to confirm that.


  18. Well Tex, if he didn’t, that may have something to do with where Obama was in 1980, since after Carter re-established registration requirements the men born in 1960-61 began to register again. It was my understanding that the time was a little goofy, since Ford repealed the requirement and Carter reinstating it, resulting in a gap there with men born between’57-’59 being exempt. Since Obama was born in ’61, I would think that he would have had to have registered, but I’ve never seen it come up.

    Personally, I vaguely remember registering. I think I did. Did I? Hmmm…


  19. General,

    Obama would have had to register, being born in 1961. That much, I’m sure. You would have registered when you turned 18, like all the rest of us toadies born in ’60 and beyond.

    What I have heard is that Obama did not. But I’m not going to make any allegation until someone confirms that fact. If he didn’t register, it does raise real issues.

    If Obama did register, and the Republicans still choose to pursue this citizenship requirement to any degree, then they’ll have about as much veracity as the troofers of 9/11 fame.

    But it seems a very simple way to put all the legal mumbo jumbo to rest. Better now, than after the inauguration. Better still, about two years ago would have been more appropriate to be asking and answering these questions.

    I swear this country is getting more stupid by the day.


  20. Rutherford, you could always switch to mock blogging. Worked out great for me….LOL.


  21. Mock blogging? I thought that’s what I did. What is mock blogging Lexie?


  22. Yeah… bashing people is certainly a release. Hell, getting bashed can even be a release. When I was in my early twenties, I literally enjoyed the feeling of getting my head kicked in. I know it sounds masochistic while being terribly unoriginal. But, there were nights I said to myself, I’m pissed with life, not thrilled with my own character and I’m going to the local bar to start some shit. Maybe if blogs existed back then, I wouldn’t have later needed reconstructive nose surgery.

    I have amazing nose now, by the way. The motherfucker is symmetrical as all hell. Just a piece of absolute art. Plus my little nephews love playing with its lack of cartilage.


  23. Rabbit,

    I’ve been meaning to ask. How’s your angel for a wife feeling? She’s either tough as nails and crazy, or a saint, or both to be married to a loon like you.

    ———-

    Here’s a “boring story of” during my college days but always good for a sadistic laugh. Old Tex used to play a little baseball. I could wing a ball about 90mph on a gun – great for high school; batting practice for the big boys.

    One day some smart ass frat boy hit me with a snowball, which in turn started a snowball fight. Some of my ex-jock buddies joined in with, providing cover.

    You know when you pack one of those good, wet ice balls? You know, the kind that you squeeze for about five minutes, rock hard, with grooves for your grip before letting loose as hard as you can throw? Well, I didn’t know which frat boy had hit me, but it didn’t matter. This one polo sweatered dork wearing glasses bent over to pack another and I ripped the rotator cuff throwing this one at his head. The timing couldn’t have been better…

    When this SOB turned to stand up and face me, the ice bullet was about two feet from his face. It hit him square between the cheekbone and the jaw. It seemed like an eternity between the time I saw the glasses fly off, heard the crack of his teeth (I guess), and his feet finally making some movement in the snow.

    These pussy frat boys accused me of hitting their “brother” with a rock (well, I admit it was kind of a rock). I accused them of throwing like little girls. Wrong answer…wannabe jocks vs. frat house fight soon ensued. Some of those frat boys were a little tougher than I had given them credit for, by the way.

    But I still look back proudly thinking, “I never made a better throw from shortstop in all those years of playing ball than I did in that snowball fight.”


  24. lol….the visual of a well made and well aimed snowball crunching someone’s grill is classic. i know exactly the kind of snowball you’re talking about.

    My wife found out yesterday that if we ever want kids we have to go with some crazy process that I don’t fully understand and costs a ton of money. Even my kick ass union insurance doesn’t cover it. Unfortunately, Dead Rabbit can’t afford the 10,000 dollar process AND the baby it produces. (10 grand is a lot of money to me right now)

    So, after pondering it all….We’ve decided to do it anyways. 🙂


  25. So, after pondering it all….We’ve decided to do it anyways.

    Good for you guys. You’ll be in my thoughts and I’ll try to keep them clean!

    For some reason, I was thinking you had a couple of kids.


  26. Tex, very glad to hear you find the Obama citizenship thing a bit silly. Your mention of the draft thing is the first I’ve heard of it. I may snoop around to see if I can find it corroborated anywhere credible (like HuffPost, HOHO).

    While we’re on the registration topic, I’m also a 1961 dude, a couple of months older than Barack. I’m also permanently disabled and I was pretty freaked out when I discovered I had to go register. “They do NOT want me fighting for my country. I can barely dodge a turtle much less machine gun fire.” Fortunately, wiser folks than I assured me that despite my registration, I’d be deemed a 4F and could remain in my safe cocoon of civilian life. Still, to this day I remember the icky feeling of registering. So, there you have it Tex and Rabbit, my confession that I’m a liberal chickensh*t. 🙂 But of course, you already knew that.


  27. Rutherford, you could always switch to mock blogging. Worked out great for me….LOL.

    Lex, I actually did something that led a couple of my readers to think I was mock blogging. I took on one of my most vocal opponents as a co-blogger on my blog and as I started publishing his contributions I only identified him at the end of his post. The result was that some of my readers would start reading his conservative stuff, not realize that it wasn’t me, and then thought I’d lost my mind. So I started identifying him at the beginning of his posts so it would be clear from the start who wrote what. Sadly, I think he took a page from Tex’s book and decided life was way more important than blogging. I haven’t had a contribution from him in a couple of months.


  28. Best of luck Rabbit. I can’t fault anyone for doing whatever it takes to create a family.

    In fact, I had an eye opening moment at my college reunion in this regard. One of my college roommates turned out to be gay and took some time coming out of the closet. I hadn’t seen him in some 20 years. When he and his partner had lunch with me and my wife he said that the most painful aspect of facing his homosexuality was not being able to have kids. He was a very traditional kind of dude. Now I know not everyone is supportive of this, but fortunately for him, he and his partner were able to adopt a pair of siblings and the four of them are very happy together. Bottom line is that the need to have a family is a strong one for lots of people. I completely get it.

    Sorry to return to politics, but after spending time with my roommate last summer, I’m even more upset about the passing of Proposition 8 in CA. If you saw how much these guys cared about each other and their children, you’d have to rethink any opposition to their ability to get married.

    But I digress …. again Rabbit, best of luck.


  29. Rutherford, while I said that pursuit of a birth certificate was possibly supercilious, it didn’t mean I was excusing it either. This could be a very serious charge but the Republicans need to handle it professionals and like grown ups – not like the Monica fiasco released across the net.

    The selective service is a much bigger problem for Obama, if he didn’t register. A real big problem, like invalidating an election. Here’s why:

    (1) It’s the law; (2) the respective consequences of not registering.

    And according to website, two of those consequences for not registering are:

    (A) CITIZENSHIP
    The U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) makes registration with Selective Service a condition for U.S. citizenship, if the man first arrived in the U.S. before his 26th birthday and was required to register.

    (B) FEDERAL JOBS
    A man must be registered to be eligible for jobs in the Executive Branch of the Federal government and the U.S. Postal Service. This applies only to men born after December 31, 1959.

    http://usmilitary.about.com/cs/wars/a/draft2.htm

    If Obama didn’t register and was required to do so as I’ve indicated, then I think by law Joe Biden should become President; no exception.

    I suspect, this poop is going to hit the fan here before too long. Obama’s hurting himself keeping this stuff secret. He needs to come out and provide the information. And I fully expect between the 750MM in contributions that they can’t quite account for. I’m not going on a witchhunt but I know something of the filthiness of Chicago politics. There’s a long history there. You’re going to see but never admit this Pres. Elect is dirty before it’s through.

    By the way, I’m older than you. That pains me. But only by a few months…


  30. One other thing “R”. You’re going to be calling me a homophobe before too long and unlike the racist charge from Mikey, which I more than proved was bullshit, this one charge I won’t be denying.

    I’ve had it with these militant gay types. I’ve never hassled a person for being gay. But the gay crowd lost the Prop 8 vote and the record stands. It’s now time for them stand down and accept the vote, or quit being the hypocrites and march over to the mosques, down to Compton, and across the bay to Oakland to protest.

    These pussies are the biggest cowards I’ve ever witnessed and the only reason they’re hassling the Mormons is because they won’t get their asses kicked and their heads lopped, though the Mormons could if they didn’t restrain themselves. Trust me.

    I grant them just about every right but one; I’m not recognizing their marriage because I don’t give a damn how much your friends love each other, it is impossible for them to share what my wife and I do. I’ve been tolerant in the past but I’m not consenting to acceptance of marriage. It’s perverted no matter how you spin it and basic anatomy proves as much, unless you evolutionist types are going to show me how sperm swimming in feces is ala natural.

    Sorry to be blunt, you need to know where I stand.

    And I’m real close to declaring war on those who don’t even understand basic anatomy. I grant them just about every right but one; I’m not recognizing their marriage because I don’t give a damn how much your friends love each other, it is impossible for them to share what my wife and I do. And yes Rutherford, whether you believe in God or not, marriage is ordained directly by Him. It is Holy and not something to be changed.

    I’ve been tolerant in the past though the thought of it about makes me puke, but I’m not consenting to acceptance. Sorry, it’s perverted no matter how you spin it.


  31. unless you evolutionist types are going to show me how sperm swimming in feces is ala natural.

    Homosexuality, like religion and politics, is not something anyone is likely to change someone else’s mind on. But Tex, when you depart from personal preference and try to argue biology, you get into murky territory.

    Since sperm swimming in feces is perversion, can I assume that heterosexual couples (I’m sure at least one of whom is probably a good friend of yours) who enjoy anal sex are perverts? Should their marriages be annulled? Also while we’re at it, since Kleenex and toilets are not the “natural” destination for sperm, should we also declare all those who masturbate perverts? Last time I read a biology book it didn’t say anything about sperm looking forward to their trip into a condom. So I guess everyone who uses contraception is a pervert?

    Do you disavow all marriages performed by a justice of the peace and not in a church?

    You see, I actually have no problem with religious leaders who refuse to marry two men or two women. I don’t adhere to the “salad bar” approach of religion. Either you buy the whole “story” or you don’t. If Christianity says homosexuality is an abomination than I think it perfectly natural for Christian marriages between same sex couples to be forbidden.

    But you see, I don’t think religion is the end all and be all. If two people who love each other wish to have a legal marriage outside of a church, how they get off in private is none of my business, particularly if it is consensual and does not involve minors.

    Perhaps the bigger picture is whether matters of morality should be decided by referendum. Do I really want the masses deciding which rights I can have based on what I legally do in the privacy of my home? It’s a damn slippery slope.

    Also, you thought throwing Compton in my face was going to intimidate? I am mortified that so many in the black community voted for Prop 8. If any group of people should sympathize with the pain involved in denial of basic rights, it should be blacks. Reports have said that the gay lobby did not reach out sufficiently to the black community to get their support. I don’t know whether or not that is true. All I can say is I hope the prop is challenged in court and defeated.

    Live and let live brother Tex. If heterosexuals are such experts on marriage and all that is holy about it, why is our divorce rate at 50%? Give me a break.


  32. This gets to the heart of why you and I are different Rutherford, of which I have mentioned before, your analogies not withstanding. I believe in absolutes ordained by God; you believe in laws made by man (except Christians – they don’t count). Real simple.

    I only used the analogy to show that even basic biology shows men on men, or women on women, completely unnatural. I suppose that even basic anatomical function escapes you. What gays choose to in their own homes, I don’t care.

    I’ll still think them dsyfunctional and will happily call them perverted. I have scientific data that clearly shows the lifestyle a hazard, including taking about 20 years off the average life, and a hazard to society in general. Doubt me? I can prove it way beyond HIV and the hazard to society, gay or straight.

    Live and let live brother Tex. If heterosexuals are such experts on marriage and all that is holy about it, why is our divorce rate at 50%? Give me a break.

    We are not brothers. We are mortal enemies. That is something you don’t understand in a much bigger and more important war than politic. And don’t think I excuse the divorce rate of heterosexuals. But if I were to come to your conclusion, all I could say is “live and let live”, no harm, no foul.

    Problem is that isn’t true – just like homosexuals don’t hurt anybody but the two (or more) involved.

    And if I were black, I would be offended by your comparison of gays to blacks. Fortunately, 70% of them see thru your bullshit.


  33. Like I said, attempting to change minds on this subject is pointless. I find it curious though that you have not addressed one of my central points.

    Where does heterosexual anal sex, masturbation and contraception fall in your absolutes ordained by God?

    Lastly, I used to be VERY offended when blacks were compared to homosexuals. But the older I get the more I think homosexuality is not a choice. I’m beginning to think that folks are born gay and have no more control over that visceral preference than blacks have over the color of our skin or our heritage.


  34. I didn’t address your points because I found them meaningless and pointless to my statement.

    Where does heterosexual anal sex, masturbation and contraception fall in your absolutes ordained by God?

    To the best of my knowledge, it isn’t addressed, unless you buy the Catholic dogma of contraception being wrong as in “be fruitful and multiply.” I don’t.

    But the older I get the more I think homosexuality is not a choice. I’m beginning to think that folks are born gay and have no more control over that visceral preference than blacks have over the color of our skin or our heritage.

    I don’t, and you won’t find any innate gene either. To prove it’s genetics and not a choice, somebody will need to explain to me why there are hundreds of sets of identical twins, one straight; one gay. When you find that gay gene, let me know and I’ll reconsider.


  35. I didn’t address your points because I found them meaningless and pointless to my statement.

    Since your statement directly addressed the appropriate natural, biological target/destination of sperm, my question was far from pointless.

    I don’t, and you won’t find any innate gene either.

    So as a medical student are you now telling me that biology=genetics? How do we account for one sibling being outgoing and the other one being shy? I claim that sexual orientation is a personality trait developed very early in life. I apologize if my use of “born gay” implied a genetic disposition. Many homosexuals attest to same-sex attraction at a very young age. This tells me that Johnny does not reach the age of 18 and then say “mmmm, how can I be a pervert to disgust people? I think I’ll be gay.” Surely you’ll agree it does not work that way.

    Also, since you would like to address this from a scientific perspective, you are aware that homosexuality occurs in the animal kingdom? In fact there is a breed of primate (I forget the name) that is so horny that families screw one another in every combination imaginable.

    I’m just sayin’.


  36. Chen, LOL boy have I allowed this thread to go way off topic! Perhaps we need a new thread with a title borrowed from the SNL Jon Lovitz character:

    “I know you’re not gay, but if you were, would you find me attractive?”

    OR PERHAPS

    “I just want to be loved. Is that so wrong?” 🙂


  37. Also, since you would like to address this from a scientific perspective, you are aware that homosexuality occurs in the animal kingdom? In fact there is a breed of primate (I forget the name) that is so horny that families screw one another in every combination imaginable.

    And my female lab before she passed away in October, would hunch my male lab when he was sick and she felt healthy. I suppose she had penis envy?

    Animals, especially animals with a structure of dominant alpha male and/or female, use a variety of mechanisms that could be construed as homosexual sex by the willingly naive to establish their position in the hierarchy. You’re statement shows a lack of knowledge and depth R. Besides, even if you are right, aren’t we supposed to rise above the rest of God’s creatures? Are we not supposed to know good from evil, right from wrong? Made in God’s image? We are the only species that recognizes their imminent death. Several male mammals will kill their own young. Some will happily eat each other – and I ain’t talking about the foreplay type.

    So as a medical student are you now telling me that biology=genetics?

    You should stay out of the biological realm R and stick with technical issues. Do you not know that genetics is a subset of a larger field called biology? I would have thought you understood that in high school; bio – meaning life, logos – to talk of.

    Medical definition of Genetics:

    (noun) 1 a : a branch of biology that deals with the heredity and variation of organisms.

    How do we account for one sibling being outgoing and the other one being shy? I claim that sexual orientation is a personality trait developed very early in life.

    Yes, I took your “born gay” as being genetic in nature. It’s the holy grail of the homosexual crowd which they have never been able to prove.

    Absolutely. I agree with you, homosexuality is a learned process developed at an early age. However, trained psychologists will also agree most destructive behaviors are a learned process at an early age, and we as a society don’t accept those behaviors as normal. And that is what you are requesting whether you wish to admit to that or not. Let us remember, until became hip and politically correct to approve of anything gay, forty years ago homosexuality was defined as a mental illness. In my opinion, it should still be. If that makes me a homophobe for speaking truth, so be it.

    Since your statement directly addressed the appropriate natural, biological target/destination of sperm, my question was far from pointless.

    I guess I thought you smart enough to recognize my intent from the above. I was trying to make a point there is absolutely nothing normal about one man sticking his cock in another man’s rectum. I could get far more graphic in description R, if need be.

    I will say this. It is apparent to me from the Song of Solomon that any sex, done in love and love alone, is permissible between a husband and wife. As a possible medical doctor, I wouldn’t recommend everything goes because of the obvious health and bodily risks.

    Now, if you really want me to, I will be glad to address your foolish analogies from above, but I will be doing by the Word of God which seems to offend you greatly. Do you really want me to go there?


  38. You should stay out of the biological realm R and stick with technical issues.

    You may want to stick with biology but clearly you need to stay away from mathematics. Your earlier comments implied that biology=genetics. A proper subset, you might recall is a group of elements contained in the larger set. The subset does not equal the set. Hence, biology does not equal genetics. There are aspects of biology that lie outside of genetics, which was my original point.

    Do you know what the etymology of “hysterectomy” is? It comes from a time when women were deemed to be hysterical (aka crazy) due to female related issues and removal of the uterus was the prescribed solution. I think nowadays if you told a woman with fibroid tumors that she was nuts, you’d get a swift kick in the ass. You might not like the idea, but the notion of homosexuality as a mental illness has gone the way of the original meaning of hysterectomy. You have a right to your prejudices but as a doctor-to-be, you need to get with the times. (Or at least, for goodness sake don’t become a psychiatrist!) 😉


  39. Thanks for this great post Im pretty sure that many people are searching informative post like yours .


  40. Absolutely with you it agree. It seems to me it is very good idea. Completely with you I will agree.

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?


  41. Remarkable phrase

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?


  42. It is remarkable

    P.S. Please review icons



Leave a Reply

