h1

Yep, I’ve Got A Blavatar Too

December 5, 2008

After a year of spreading the purple throwing star around to every blog, message board and random social networking service I came across, the circle is finally complete.  As silly as it might sound, I’ve been itching for one of these for quite some time, and just recently the good folks at WordPress.com granted The Chamber an early Christmas gift:

blavatarsnip

I’ve got an avatar, a gravatar, and now…a blavatar!  Cool huh?

As an aside, there is a slightly amusing background story on how the star came to be, in case you’re curious.  I was pretty peeved at the WordPress people at the time, but lately I’ve been thinking it may have been one of the best things to have happened to The Chamber.  With little setbacks come great ideas, I guess. 

So, the purple shuriken of the Brave Nomadic Warrior of the Political Web ™ is now universal and worldwide.  Sort of my own “ghost face killing plate” (if you’re down with kung fu cinema metaphors), so you know who’s around when you see it.

9 comments

  1. Heh….I was just scrolling through my bookmarks and didn’t see the normal “W” icon before your name Chen.

    For a second I thought that maybe I deleted you, as I am often want to do. But no, you went and got yourself a little icon. Bravo!


  2. And I do believe that I coined the term “General” for you also, Chen.
    In addition to the Chameleon.


  3. The General stuck. The Chameleon, not so much.

    Kinda glad it worked out that way, actually.


  4. Here General,

    I found an appropriate blavatar for the Revolting Pawn, courtesy of Word Press and Tex Taylor…

    In the immortal words of Bluto from Animal House (paraphrased), “see if you can guess what Pawn is…”

    WordPress will need to shrink it for the Revolting Pawn a little – he’ll enjoy them shrinking it.


  5. Ah, I’ll have to try again…serves me right!

    I found an appropriate blavatar for the Revolting Pawn, courtesy of Word Press and Tex Taylor…

    In the immortal words of Bluto from Animal House (paraphrased), “see if you can guess what Pawn is…”

    WordPress will need to shrink it for the Revolting Pawn a little – he’ll enjoy them shrinking it.


  6. YIKES, Tex please don’t tell me that’s an x-ray of an a**hole! I don’t know what that was but it was damn disgusting.


  7. Chen, clue me in … is the only difference between the blavatar and the gravatar that the blavatar appears on the address field of the browser? WordPress bragged that the blavatar would appear next to your comments but heck, the gravatar did that. What am I missing here?

    Anyway, since I’m already in trouble with the WordPress design police (led by Detective First Grade Tex Taylor) I implemented the blavatar post haste. 🙂


  8. R-

    The blavatar will also appear next to your pingbacks on wordpress.com blogs. Not really that big a deal, but still new. Actually, I don’t really like it, since it’d probably override my “ping” emblem for pingbacks here in the Chamber.


  9. YIKES, Tex please don’t tell me that’s an x-ray of an a**hole! I don’t know what that was but it was damn disgusting.

    Rutherford, you old lib you. You are brighter than I give you credit for…CORRECT FOR A THOUSAND! 😈

    Now, if I were to write a**hole on my answer sheet, it would be counted as incorrect, so let’s call the Pawn by his rightful name: the anal sphincter. A more approprite blavatar I couldn’t pick for old baldy.

    That is the Revolting Puke’s world view you’re looking at there. Isn’t he a beauty?



Leave a Reply

