h1

Are You Smarter Than A Lizardoid?

December 8, 2008

As a nice follow-up to my Thanksgiving Day post, LGF Gets Punked, I thought it’d be fun to play a little game.  For this contest, I’m going to post a question, and the first commenter to answer correctly is going to win a fabulous prize. First though, a little background…

In our first episode, I had gotten the Lizardoid’s undies in a bunch by rogering up the LGF Dictionary blog with a couple of cute little items, like a my own YouTube video, a short LGF bio on myself, and a vandalized header. Oh, and I also moved the dictionary itself over to the Chamber (I did give it back, just for the record).  Anyway, after a bit of drama in the Thanksgiving thread over on the main site, the blog key holder Zombie arrived to calm the horde, and blithely posted the following:

I heard a rumor the LGF Dictionary had been hacked, so I just went in 5 minutes ago and unhacked it.

if it gets hacked again, I’ll probably just take it offline.

Too many people knew the password, so it was floating around a little loose.

(Password changed, needless to say.)

At the moment, the dictionary itself is no longer there (just the blog); I may re-upload it, may not.

Wait and see what happens.

The fact that a wordpress.com blog has no “password” and that it wasn’t “hacked” notwithstanding, Zombie did manage to remove my mess (something that really took only a couple of clicks, no doubt), and the dictionary itself is now posted at LGF proper (why it wasn’t there all along, I’m not sure).  

But “wait and see” we did, and when you go to the blog now you can check out my little encore:

czbaaaack

I’m going to take the liberty of utilizing the LGF Dictionary one last time and say….

Bwahahaha!!!

But the question to my contestant field of LGFers past and present is a simple one:

How the heck did I do it?

—————————————————-

Update: It took a few days, but the LGFers finally got word:

chenmandy

Ah yes, that’s the question.  But again, no “hack”.  Please, let’s review the facts:

1) On Thanksgiving, I was granted admin privileges to LGF-D by one of the handful of other admins on that blog

2) Once I was in, I performed a few actions, including booting the other admins (save Zombie), replacing the header, posting a new thread (”The Legend Of ChenZhen”), pasting my “you’ve been punked” youtube video in place of the dictionary page (and moving the dictionary text to my own, password-protected page), and grabbing a few screenshots along the way.  (nothing that couldn’t have been put back to normal without too much trouble)

3) I post the “LGF Gets Punked” thread here in the Chamber, displaying the screenshots and providing a forum for discussion

4) after sitting that way for a few hours, Zombie was eventually alerted, quickly moved in to erase all those things, booted me as the last remaining admin (leaving only herself), and posted her aforementioned comment on LGF

5) a few days ago, my encore appeared at LGF-D (and only remains posted because, presumably, Zombie hasn’t been alerted to it yet)

And with that, I give everyone a big…fat…HINT.  (Since no one had noticed, and the post is likely to be gone soon)

Update:  The blog is gone, as Zombie promised.  Time to reveal the answer.  Not too complicated…

Since I knew that it would be easy for Zombie to fix all those things I listed in #2 above, and that I’d be promptly blocked, I thought it might be fun to “schedule” an encore as long as I was in there.   For wordpress.com blogs, the scheduling part is easy to do from the post editor:

Scheduling a Post (Timestamp)

Scheduling a Post (Timestamp)

The problem was, any new thread that I penned would have shown up at the top of the list in the dashboard, (even if it hadn’t been published yet), meaning that it probably would have been caught when she was deleting the other stuff.   What I needed was something that would have been buried a little to avoid detection. 

Now, what many wp.com bloggers might not realize is that you can use the above interface to reschedule a post that has already been published.  So, all I did was look for an older post that I could use to drop in my video and set a new date.  And as luck would have it, Zombie unwittingly gave me a little gift over a year ago, ’cause I found a thread aptly titled “I’m Ba-a-a-a-a-ack”.   Destiny?  I dunno.   But I figured the chances of catching that were slim to none, and even the fact that I was subsequently blocked wouldn’t stop the post from appearing at the specified date and time.

In other words, what you saw here was a brave nomadic warrior’s voice from the blogospheric grave coming back to issue another punking, and certainly NOT another “hack”.

76 comments

  1. they kept the same pass word


  2. No rabbit. Like I said, there really is no “password” for the blog itself (which makes Zombie’s comment kinda curious, assuming she knows how it all works).


  3. You overlayed the “old” file which doesn’t require a password on top of theres; or you redirect their link to your’s.


  4. Tex- You’re warm.


  5. What exactly is the dictionary anyways? That’s kind of a weird site, those guys. Whats their bag over there? Does the whole site revolve around only a secular attack on radical Islam? Too many people for the Rabbit.


  6. Maybe I’ll go over there and pen some more “wickle” poetry.


  7. rabbit-

    The main LGF site has its own dictionary of terms, and until my antics, they were kept and maintained on that blog.


  8. I may be warm, but I was real cold spelling “their’s”. I don’t know Chen. Since I’m not exactly following what you did, I’d have to examine it closer.

    Nonetheless, I don’t know whether to condemn you or laugh out loud at both your genius and your sense of humor.

    The only thing I know is I’ll bet Charles “Darwin” Johnson wished he had never heard the word Chenzhen.


  9. DR(abbit),

    Maybe I’ll go over there and pen some more “wickle” poetry.

    Did I tell you that was beautiful the other day?


  10. You were automatically logged in to WordPress and still had admin privileges.


  11. Good one Sphinx.

    Hadn’t even given thought to Admin privileges.


  12. Holy Shit! Chicago/Illinois corruption as just splattered utter shit everywhere! This is some very, very serious stuff! About as bad as it gets. The acceptance of corruption in Chicago makes Detroit look saintly.


  13. Chen,
    How do you save a page like that? Does it only work on WordPress Blogs?


  14. Wow. Sick! Fricking staggering! There is no way Obama will take the oath without his rep taking a major, major hit. Change we can believe in? These are the people he is associated with??????? Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think Obama is necessarily part of this, in fact, I bet it comes out that Obama was clearly not playing dirty ball. But that will prove he new about the game!

    This sucks. This is the last thing the country needs.


  15. knew


  16. Chicago Style Politics! 😈

    Change we can believe in!


  17. My post is still up over there. LOL

    Sphinx-

    You were automatically logged in to WordPress and still had admin privileges.

    While it is true that I was granted admin privileges by one of the Dictionary’s guardians back on Thanksgiving, those privileges were removed by Zombie (which I assume is what she meant by “unhacking” or “changing the password”; Either she’s being deliberately misleading, or she doesn’t really understand how the user system works on a wordpress.com blog. There is no “password” to the blog itself; only access via your own account when granted by another admin or the blog creator. My guess is that she wanted to act like she was in control of the situation, even though she had no idea what had really happened. Or, she did, and was just trying to dumb it down for the lizard community. Probably the latter. But it would be funny if she really did change her own account password, thinking that’s how I gained access).

    There’s a small hint. 😉

    solar1-

    Chen,
    How do you save a page like that? Does it only work on WordPress Blogs?

    Are you referring to my image of the blog page above? If so, I do that with the screen snip tool that came with my VAIO laptop. Maybe its a Vista thing, I dunno. But it’s handy, and I use it a lot. It basically allows me to crop and save anything that is on my screen as a jpeg image.


  18. O.T. Chen, I double dog dare you to do develope a post on this…good Dimocratic corruption in action from the world where the Obamessiah made his bones.

    And I’ll guarantee you the stooges in Illinois always pulling that Dim lever would happily re-elect this thief.

    http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/chi-investigation-timeline-1208,0,2680294.story?page=1


    • Tex-

      Wasn’t the previous Gov. -also convicted on corruption charges- a Republican?

      There’s something wrong in Illinois. My god.


  19. develop…gad


  20. General

    Yep, he was Republican. The entire system in Illinois is corrupted. Doesn’t make me feel real confident in Obama’s upbringing either.

    Don’t misundertand, though. I’m not blaming or pointing fingers at Pres. Elect Present concerning this one.

    Just the fact at questioning why any of us put our faith in gov’t.


  21. Perhaps its correct to see any politician who is less corrupt than others as a positive treat instead of expecting perfect behaviour, i doubt there are many if any that are totally honest people.


  22. Oh Chen, you’re so baddddddd! I love it. And I won’t say a word. But please remind Tex that he’s not been following me for 3 years as I can’t seem to get it through his head.

    Tex, I must agree, Chuckles is probably wishing he’d never heard of ChenZhen.

    Love the snow, BTW!


  23. I think I got it, Zombie changed her password thinking that it applied to the dictionary, whereas it was only her own WordPress-logon password, and thus you were still able to log onto the dictionary.

    Or she changed the password of the dictionary to something rather predictable, like “chenzhenisadouche” or something..


  24. Sphinx, 😆

    Or she changed the password of the dictionary to something rather predictable, like “chenzhenisadouche” or something.

    Careful! You’re skating on thin ice. One more suggestion like that, and you might convince some of these pagans you’ve switched over to the dark side with Tex!


  25. Rutherford,

    You’ve knocked me out. As you are aware, I refuse to comment at your site on principle. But I will admit my own egregious error in judgment to go read your article you’ve posted. And I about had a myocardial infarction after what I read.

    Do you realize Tex has just be shown for once to be less suspicious of your messiah that you are? You mean the minute I cut President Present some slack (see above), you’ve now cast doubt about “THE ONE’s” own honesty?

    Do you realize what this could mean? I thought the Sphinx was walking on thin ice, but man, you might get your own throat cut over that post. Now, I’m worried about you!


  26. Ah don’t worry Tex, it’s all in good fun. After all, I don’t feel like putting too many expectations into the undead clown’s intelligence, and Chen’s latest move has proven that I’m better off that way..

    And now for something completely different..


  27. Tex, LOL … or should I say 😆

    I was toying with the idea of alerting you to that post but knowing your aversion to my blog, I resisted. Glad you found it anyway.

    Hey, I may be a liberal but I’m not stupid. Some things just don’t pass the smell test with me. I go to great lengths to say that I don’t think Obama was complicit in bad boy Rod’s behavior but the idea that he never talked to him. Sorry, I just don’t buy it, particularly based on Axelrod’s prior statements.


  28. Tex, admit it … the only reason you even read the post was you thought it was about farts. 🙂


  29. Man Sphinx, you get ripped on less by Tex than I do, what gives? LOL


  30. I self censored myself like an adult. I’m making head way. Can’t wait to tell everybody at group….


  31. I’m not really in group therapy….


  32. either am I


  33. “R”,

    Boy, I’ll never live this one down:

    Tex, admit it … the only reason you even read the post was you thought it was about farts.

    Until you mentioned it in writing, I didn’t realize what you meant by the title! That Yankee euphemism is better known down here as “who ever smelt it, dealt it.”

    I have to admit in some self-reflection when you found fault with Obama that I couldn’t. Cats and dogs, living together!


  34. Lexus,

    But please remind Tex that he’s not been following me for 3 years as I can’t seem to get it through his head.

    I’ve been gone from LGF for more than a year – almost immediately that was when I started hounding you at the watch. I’ve been giving you a hard time longer than I have the Sphinx and that is well over a year (as I’m sure he would attest I’ve been a pain in the ass for what seems his entire lifetime). Before than, there was Pim’s Ghost which I have read since at least 2005.

    How can you possibly state I’ve only known of you for a year? You’re losing it kid!


  35. LOL…I saw the “flame warriors” in the sidebar right after reading Tex’s post. Seemed more appropriate than anything I could say….HA.


  36. That Yankee euphemism is better known down here as “who ever smelt it, dealt it.”

    A more careful reading of my post would reveal to you that I am quite familiar with your Southern alternative. 🙂 I think you skipped to the second paragraph.


  37. “R”,

    The post took my by such surprise, I probably couldn’t interpret past the 1st paragraph. I’m still determining if I’ve suffering an hallucination, in a perpetual dream state, or misread.


  38. Oh Lexie,

    Don’t you know that I’ve got a secret crush on you as I stalk you around the internet making fun of you? Consider it the internet equivalent of pulling your pigtails. You’re my internet girl! 👿


  39. hmmm…

    It’s been 2 days, the post still stands, and my contestants either didn’t see my pingbacks or they are ignoring them.

    Disappointing. I was at least expecting someone to chime in with some insults, if nothing else.

    But, it may be time to go try something new before I give up hope and reveal the answer.


  40. OK, I’ll take that theory and run with it Tex! LOL


  41. Chen you might as well reveal the answer and in so doing educate all of us on the wise ways of manipulating other people’s blogs.

    Then again, perhaps I should be careful what I ask for. Once your secrets are revealed, I may be the first target of the next attack. 😦


  42. Yeah, I agree with Rutherford General. Give me your secret and I promise to start frequenting “R”‘s blog!

    😈


  43. First…patience, my apprentices…

    Second, I already said:

    There is no “password” to the blog itself; only access via your own account when granted by another admin or the blog creator.

    In other words, since Tex has no wp.com account, he ain’t getting in.

    Now, I suppose if you knew the password of someone who had admin status of the blog, you could login as that person and turn around and add yourself as an admin. (that may be why I think Zombie was “dumbing it down” for the lizards; she could have just said that there were too many account holders with admin privileges at LGF-D, and any one of them could have given me their wp.com password, instead of saying “too many people knew THE password”).

    I will reveal, however, that back on Thanksgiving when I was granted admin status, one of my first actions was to go in and block every other admin from the blog (there were a handful of them, including Killgore, DesertSage, MandyManners, lawhawk, etc.). I blocked everyone but Zombie (who I couldn’t block, since she was the blog’s creator). It gave me a few giggles, I’ll admit, watching their frustration play out in real time over at LGF as they couldn’t do anything to fix it. Anyway, that left me and Zombie as the only admins, and it was only a matter of time until she performed the simple act of going in and blocking me, thus leaving her as the only admin remaining (and still remaining, I assume). And not knowing how much time I had, I acted fairly quickly.

    And now back to the original question…


  44. you are now the blog’s creater


  45. I will add one more thing, just to dig in the knife a little more…

    Considering the proven ban-happiness of Charles, Zombie was pretty stupid to grant Admin privileges to so many lizards. I mean, one of them was going to get banned from LGF eventually, and the admin status just grants too much power to a disgruntled netizen (admins can do just about anything, as opposed to “editor”, “author”, or the lowly “contributor” status). So, either Zombie really thought that these people were completely ban-proof and wouldn’t get hit by Charles’ wrecking ball, or she didn’t realize that they could have performed the same basic functions with lower-level access. Even so, she might have had the presence of mind to block any members once they were banned from the main site (thus removing any opportunity for this kind of blowback), but it looks like it never occurred to her.

    Needless to say, I don’t know if this reveals more about Charles’ penchant for being an authoritarian cult leader, or Zombie’s ignorance and shortsightedness. Maybe a little of both. And as a banned member myself, I had no problem shining a light on it, especially when I can express some creativity and have some fun at the same time.


  46. you are now the blog’s creater

    Not trusting my own writing skills up till this point, and afraid that giving the response that would give away the answer, I’m going to simply review the stated facts, in order:

    1) On Thanksgiving, I was granted admin privileges LGF-D by one of the handful of other admins on that blog

    2) Once I was in, I performed a few actions, including booting the other admins (save Zombie), replacing the header, posting a new thread (“The Legend Of ChenZhen”), pasting my “you’ve been punked” youtube video in place of the dictionary page (and moving the dictionary text to my own, password-protected page), and grabbing a few screenshots along the way.

    3) I post the “LGF Gets Punked” thread here in the Chamber, displaying the screenshots and providing a forum for discussion

    4) after sitting that way for a few hours, Zombie was eventually alerted, quickly moved in to erase all those things, booted me as the last remaining admin (leaving only herself), and posted her aforementioned comment on LGF

    5) a few days ago, my encore appeared at LGF-D (and only remains posted because, presumably, Zombie hasn’t been alerted to it yet)

    Everything above is true, but I’m leaving something out…


  47. Zombie was a techno dolt and said as much before I wised up about LGF. I imagine he is still a novice at blog management.

    We know Darwin Johnson the authoritative cult brow beater.


  48. I noticed every mention of me has been cleansed from the new dictionary. That includes my extensive work and contributions to the dictionary.

    Both versions of the Dictionary started with this acknowledgment: “(Hat tips to: Charles, song_and_dance_man…”, or “zombie, song_and_dance_man, Killgore Trout,…” and now that part is missing. Ha.

    Charles really doesn’t like me and never did, even when he had to put up with so many of those who like him liked me as well. That truth probably still chaps his Nancy hide. Ha.


  49. song_and_dance_man-

    I noticed every mention of me has been cleansed from the new dictionary. That includes my extensive work and contributions to the dictionary.

    Yea, I noticed that too. I still have the html from the page saved, and that part of the intro went like this:

    The LGF Dictionary was started and maintained for years exclusively by zombie, but this new version has several editors:

    zombie, song_and_dance_man, Killgore Trout, Thanos, vxbush, lawhawk, DesertSage, Mandy Manners, Noam Sayin’, and writermom.

    (Hat tips for all the words and definitions to: Charles, song_and_dance_man, theparson, zulubaby, Raziel (Troll Devouring Blader), scaramouche, Frank IBC, mich-again, Poitiers-Lepanto, Perry, composmentis, Andrew B., Buckaroo, kps, whiterasta, Yehudit, aboo-Hoo-Hoo, AG in Houston, Al di Grandpa, American Infidel, bkrog, Bob G., bouzouki, christheprofessor, Craig Abu Al-Boo-Boo, Cybrludite, D. Edgren (the Merciless Infidel), DocDale, doppelganglander, Doss, Ed Moran abu GOMEX, exredtory, Ferris Bueller, FreeKeys, Geepers, Gmac, hm, ibu guru, Iron Fist, justdanny, kmclay, Kragar (Proud to be Kafir), M. Simon, Merovign, Meryl Yourish, Mike C., minuteman, mollyb, Mr Pol, Nannette, NuclearTinkerbell, Ol’ Southern Boy, ploome hineni, pst314, Rayra, rbmn, RickZ, satan sidekick, Spiny Norman, Stringart, Studsup, Throbert McGee, Village Idiot’s Apprentice, wtc394, Weiss, TotallySirius, Dan, adie, Antioch, Steve Barnett, Dan the Librarian of Sheffield Hallam University, David M., Forgiven Sinner, mrat88, John M., Schlacht, the crew who put together the LGF FAQ, and everybody who coined or popularized any of the terms here.)

    Upon a quick scan, there are actually several banned members who still had “hat tips” on there.


  50. get a life chen


  51. get a life chen

    😆

    DRabbit,

    I’m beginning to think that comment should be directed at me. Man, I will be glad when my wife gets home this weekend.


  52. seems chen is ducking out from alot of awkward blogging right now


  53. get ready for a thumping friday morning everyone…..


  54. LOL! C’mon rabbit, cheer up. It’s the holidays!

    Oh, and song_and_dance_man, the word is out, and Charles just called you a “psycho”. (and me a “psycho moron“)

    I guess I win?

    Tough to tell without emoticons and all that, but he sounds pissed. haha


  55. Nancy has turned out to be a fat chinned blubbering idiotic psycho himself. I pity him.


  56. rabbit-

    seems chen is ducking out from alot of awkward blogging right now

    The Illinois gov.? Or the fact that the Big 3 got nixed on the bailout? Or both I guess.

    I’ll be back with a new thread tomorrow. I was kinda hoping that this would have been resolved by now, but oh well… I just posted a big hint.


  57. Rabbit,

    get ready for a thumping friday morning everyone…..

    Damn boy, I’m going to have to get you down here with Tex so we can go bow hunting and cheer you up. You can whip my ass, and we can drink Colt 45 and traded embellished stories of former greatness.

    Remember my motto as a fellow pessimist: All your surprises are happy ones!


  58. Well, the blog got deleted, as Zombie promised.


  59. General,

    I can’t tell you how pretty your blavatar is in my bookmarks. This must be a relatively new concept, as you are the only bookmark with one…

    Even my medical school, which I recreated just to make sure it wasn’t the “timing” of the date I created the bookmark, doesn’t have one.

    I didn’t know I ran with such greatness!


  60. Great article, and he doesn’t even mention the most egregious Dimocratic offenders…

    The Most Ethical Congress in History…

    http://wizbangblog.com/content/2008/12/10/the-most-ethical-congress-in-history.php

    Remember when Tex told “THE CHAMBER” the Republicans losing the election might be the best thing that ever happened to the party in the long run? State layoffs in CA, unions being busted, Dimocratic strongholds filing bankruptcy?

    And all under the umbrella of Pres. Elect Present’s inauguration.

    Buwahahahahahaha!


  61. Tex-

    I can’t tell you how pretty your blavatar is in my bookmarks. This must be a relatively new concept, as you are the only bookmark with one…

    Pretty? Whoa. Maybe I should change it. It’s supposed to be something that strikes fear into the hearts of netizens everywhere! LOL

    Many sites have them, BTW, but I dunno why they don’t always show up.

    Anyway, the answer is revealed (check the update).

    I can move on now.


  62. by “thumping” i meant thbe stock market….


  63. Brilliant Chen, you old fox. Allow me to congratulate you 🙂

    That Mandy figure is really charming. I’d suggest we call her MandyNoManners from now on.


  64. Congrats Chen, you are truly an agent of chaos.


  65. Well, I was close to being right in my first post Chen. But I would be lying if I didn’t say that is pretty clever and very devious. I may have ‘misunderestimated’ you.

    That Mandy figure is really charming. I’d suggest we call her MandyNoManners from now on.

    What’s surprising, is that some of the vulgar posters on LGF, I never minced words with once that I can remember. You would have thought at some time in three years, Mr. Shy here would have exchanged a few unpleasantries with MandyinTatters or Sharmuta.


  66. Yea, that mandymanners nic was sarcasm all along, I suspect.

    And thanks gang. But I’d like to think that this episode’s significance was that it highlighted the fact that CJ really does run some sort of online cult over there, where one’s inclusion is only safe so long as one doesn’t upset the cult’s extremely delicate and egomaniacal leader. Even the ten hand-picked guardians of the Dictionary weren’t safe, after all.

    I was just the netizen who had fun sending the message.


  67. Chimay Red Ale, brewed under the watchful eye of the Cistercian Trappist monks at the Abbey of Notre-Dame de Scourmont, is corked. Un-pop that bitch. Yeah, that’s right. Now its time to fire up a Drew Estate cigar to go with the red, malty nectar. Pay day! Don’t listen to that worry wort rabbit that shows up here the Sunday before pay day.

    Roses are red.
    Violets are blue.
    We’re not as stupid as you think we is.

    Yeah, I like to indulge. Pretty soon, thanks to President Bush, while you guys all lose your jobs and can’t look your wives in the eye, you will be buying me cigars and fine Belgian ale. Fuck it, smoke um if you got um right?

    Don’t hate the player, hate the game! President Bush sold all of us out!


  68. Something tells me the Rabbit has been nipping some of his fermented home brew honey nectar…sounds a lot more fun that having to go to the NutCracker for at least the 20th time tonight (my daughter has a major role).

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzz


  69. I think Thanos has blacklisted me now. I might have burned that bridge with the pingback.


  70. Chen, while I think the frat-boy nature of these two recent punk’d related threads does not match the usual quality of your posts, I’ve got to give you credit for ingenuity.

    I knew that a post could be post-dated, although I’ve never actually done that myself. I did not know that if you re-published a post, the original post would remain in the same place in the queue and not pop up to the top. That’s where your real cleverness kicked in.

    However, it must be said that beyond your savvy was the utter stupidity of your opponent. If I were a blog owner who wanted you “banned” I would most certainly make sure you no longer had admin privileges on my blog. Then again, I am such a control freak, I would never have given you admin in the first place. You would’ve gotten contributor status and that would be it.

    Now that you’ve gotten this out of your system, let’s get back to the real fun of failed bailouts and Blago.


  71. “R”,

    I assume I won’t be getting my Christmas wish of administrative privileges at Rutherford Lawson?

    Speaking of frauds, you like this Madoff character who just ripped the jet set out of billions? Did I mention he is a big Dimocratic campaign donor?

    Looks like Pres. Elect Present will have to hide some of that $750MM in campaign contributions nobody can account for in a shoe box for a time. Hope it is big bills.


  72. My thoughts on the Big 3 bailout.

    My belief is that this is really a question of America keeping a manufacturing base within her borders. Make no mistake about it, as technology diffuses into the emerging markets, America will lose every time. It seems to me impossible for America to compete with China and India if we want to keep any semblance of a middle class. Plain and simple, the Chinese and Indians are cool with working for much, much less. Even worse, China doesn’t play by the laissez-faire rule book. They are a ogre nation of soulless droids led by despotic rule. They will work for the money they are told to work for. They are still slaves.

    So the upshot is that over the next 100 years we will lose our industrial strength. This has traditionally been our nation’s great left hook! The Huns of WWI and the Nazi-Jap alliance found this out the hard way. Find a modern nation with out industry to remain powerful. That’s ok, I did your homework for you and you came up with the Netherlands of the mid 17th century. Never mind that this was before the true industrial revolution, the Netherlands were crushed after only 50 years. Shipping and banking doesn’t cut it!

    Laissez-faire economics rests on rational actors pursuing economic ambition. Yet, the world isn’t rational nor are all entities striving solely for economic advantage. Just follow oil money. I’m a huge proponent of the free market, but not when we are forced to “trust” tyrannies to play ball the same way we do.

    Make no mistake about it. I am severely confused about economics right now. The more I learn, the more clueless I become. And while I have seen blatant lies this week about organized labor and the quality of American cars, I fully sympathize the majority of Americans’ position on this. The UAW needs a reality check. Bitch slapped, even. The Big 3 needs to revamp. I’m ultimately not even arguing for the bail out. I simply don’t know if traditional bankruptcy will work. But, if I need to bend my abstract economic principals to ensure America remains strong, I will.

    I respectfully request a counter argument to my thinking. It’s the only way I can be sure I…uh..believe in what I say I believe in. Lets just say da docks are a little emotional right now and no salon of enlightened thought.


  73. I actually tried really hard not to have any typos on that one. I failed, as usual.


  74. Yes, I know I’m late to the game, but still APPLAUSE & BRAVO! 😆
    I wish I had been there and then on LGF to experience this Live 😮


  75. I join. It was and with me. Let’s discuss this question. Here or in PM.

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?



Leave a Reply

