h1

Bush’s Departure Reminder

January 16, 2009

Somewhere within all the coverage of the jet diving into the Hudson river, I happened to notice Bush decided to give a farewell speech (something his father didn’t do).  As it turns out, I’m kinda glad he did, ’cause I’d almost forgotten to pick up some beer for the party I’m gonna have in a few days.  I’m sure he’s glad he did it too, ’cause if nothing else, it gave him one last chance to stand up in front of America and make those ridiculous eyebrow-contorting smirks:

bushfunnyface1

from yesterday's video

After this boilerplate performance, I take great comfort in the thought that this was the last display of fumbled phrases and childishly robotic over-enunciation of everyday words.  The last attempt to whitewash his unwise decisions with platitudes about “taking the fight to the terrorists” and head-scratchers like “promoting human liberty, human rights, and human dignity”.   The last Bush speech from behind a podium. 

Finally, it’s over.

WordPress.com Political Blogger Alliance

17 comments

  1. After this boilerplate performance, I take great comfort in the thought that this was the last display of fumbled phrases and childishly robotic over-enunciation of everyday words. The last attempt to whitewash his unwise decisions with platitudes about “taking the fight to the terrorists” and head-scratchers like “promoting human liberty, human rights, and human dignity”. The last Bush speech from behind a podium.

    Just to let you know I’m saving this quote on a stickie to parallel the soon to be O speeches


  2. Just to let you know I’m saving this quote on a stickie to parallel the soon to be O speeches

    You have learned something during your time in the Chamber, obviously, as the Archivist is a powerful flame warrior indeed. I suppose proclamation should be accepted as a sort of Bushidō around here, Alfie, since the art usually advises against announcing one’s intentions.

    Anyway, I’m pretty confident that Obama’s in a different league when it comes to delivering speeches.


  3. To be honest, I had no idea Bush even gave a speech. From what I hear, and based on reports that Cheney dozed off, and apparently Obama might have not bothered to watch the speech, I reckon I didn’t miss anything important.
    The only thing I will miss about Bush is the fact that his many screw ups provided great entertainment, I mean he couldn’t even pronounce certain words right, and he has great quotes that will live on forever in the world of comedy.


  4. GIVE THE GUY HIS DO.
    HE WAS A CLEAN LIVING GUY,YOU CANNOT SAY THAT ABOUT MANY PRESIDENTS
    HE DID WHAT HE THOUGHT WAS RIGHT TO PROTECT THE COUNTY.
    I WOULD LIKE TO SEE SOME OF YOU BLOWHARDS TAKE OVER THE OFFICE AND SEE WHAT YOU COULD DO.


  5. “Anyway, I’m pretty confident that Obama’s in a different league when it comes to delivering speeches.”

    He is. He should have a record for the most consecutive teleprompter given speeches.


  6. I often noticed a common characteristic of libs is the inability to differentiate style from substance.

    I grant Obama, with the aid of speechwriters and teleprompters is very good in delivery. George Bush during his addresses to the nation was also good in this capacity, and personally thought his speech immediately after 9/11 was one of the best ever written and delivered. He was never given proper credit for that.

    Bush, unlike Obama, was not good when trying to make nice and ad lib and it was painful to listen and watch. For the camera, Obama does share some of the same characteristic of Reagan in projecting ability to be in control. No doubt, Obama is cool to those I perceive as weak minded.

    Time will tell if Obama can deliver on his promises. I predict the future will show that Obama not near the “intellect” some here dream him to be (if he was, he would release his academic records and closely guarded secrets); he is a fixture of the politically correct and that ruse will wear thin; that while self-confident, Obama is also incredibly arrogant and opportunistic for self, and that he will prove to be a weak and ineffective leader with his cabinet necessary to make the difficult decisions.

    This brouhaha of being Lincoln is retching and disgusting. While Lincoln one of our greatest Presidents, Obama’s only real accomplishment is to get elected – his record in Illinois as Jr. Senator a blank piece of paper. If I could make a few predictions, with the assistance of our corrupted media, America will feel good about itself for the man of “hope and change” for a time and many will be fooled. Things will seem to get better with the stock marketing making a small recovery of which Obama will take credit, but Obama policies will have little or nothing to do with it, and in fact, will hurt the market long-term with burdensome regulation and draconian taxes.

    But in the end, Obama will prove disastrous for our country, libs will fail to understand that, nor ever admit to that because it would force them to face they are inadequate in the own personal missions, and we will be weakened to the point of becoming no longer the world’s only superpower very shortly.

    Europe will cheer at our new “kindness”, but behind close doors recognize that we are no longer capable, which in turn will cost Europe dearly. They will have earned their beat down and this time I hope most Americans say no when asked for our sacrifices.


  7. What a pleasure it will be to look back a few years from now and watch Tex etal. eat their words. The beautiful thing about the Obama administration is that they cannot do worse than Bush. It is a physical, scientific impossibility.

    And now I shall shamelessly blog-pimp. My assessment of our 43rd President.


  8. By the way, Chen, did I miss the memo or was the WPPBA going to do simultaneous blog posts on the end of the Bush era (or should I say error)? In any case, if I did miss the memo, consider my previously pimped post my contribution. 🙂


  9. What a pleasure it will be to look back a few years from now and watch Tex etal. eat their words. The beautiful thing about the Obama administration is that they cannot do worse than Bush. It is a physical, scientific impossibility.

    All Hail Caesar Obama. I’ve already got my toga on for the inauguration.

    Assuming you are around Captain ‘R’, and that’s a big if, be sure to come back around when Imam Obama’s idiocy has left some large metropolitan area a smoldering ash, or a biological ruin. Which I will then ask you, assuming you have the moral courage to stand by your convictions, “Still think it’s a scientific impossibility dumb shit?”

    I might have read your drivel, but since you’ve moved back to being the typical pompous, asshole mode I first met, I’ve decided it would be better for me to wait until the first major hiccup of your feckless leader, where I will in turn unload on you while making it most personal.


  10. Your loss Tex, you might actually find my assessment of Bush to be charitable considering what most of my peers have to say about him.

    The funny thing is the reason we will not see the “smoldering ash” that you prophecy is that Obama is not the screaming liberal that you think I want him to be. He is turning out to be a moderate.

    All I ask Tex is that you and your political compadres listen to Obama tomorrow with an open heart. Even you must admit we have an historic moment on our hands and we may just have a leader who can inspire all of us to do better. Commit yourself to give him one day of a benefit of a doubt.


  11. Your loss Tex, you might actually find my assessment of Bush to be charitable considering what most of my peers have to say about him.

    Why? I think your peers are a stain on the history of our country and will continue to be. A pack of Benedict Arnolds and nothing more. I have nothing but disdain for them. An election or inauguration doesn’t change that. You look at it as historic; I look at it as a crossroads.

    All I ask Tex is that you and your political compadres listen to Obama tomorrow with an open heart. Even you must admit we have an historic moment on our hands and we may just have a leader who can inspire all of us to do better. Commit yourself to give him one day of a benefit of a doubt.

    Why should I be asked “listen to Obama tomorrow with an open heart?” Why should I be asked to not react exactly as you did with Bush starting in Jan 2001? Why would you asked me to do something you weren’t willing to do yourself? How can you possibly think I could better myself by adopting a man that believes virtually everything of which I’m diametrically opposed? That is foolish.

    Here’s a little guarantee Rutherford. Tomorrow as you hear the ringing of the bells at the overpriced coronation and orgy, not terribly long thereafter, all but the most leftist of hacks like you will be wringing their hands of Obama.

    Obama can no more be a moderate than I can be a liberal. It is not his nature and not too long after the coronation of Caesar, Obama’s true nature will begin to show. You won’t notice because Obama is you, as you will be marching lockstep. While Obama may act moderate for a time concerning economics as his hand will be forced, his social policies will be anything but. You in turn, will help carry his water as is your very nature, and a comparison of Bush’s 2nd term will soon follow; probably blogged.

    The writing is on the wall Rutherford. I know you smart enough to recognize we are no longer united, nor do we wish to be. The last eight years of your progressive nature has assured that. While I can be civil, I do not want to be party to your culture. Only the weak minded will straddle the fence.

    And only time will tell whose ideas win out.


  12. To the left and my buddy Rabbit,

    I came back today because shortly I will be signing off from WordPress, but the occasional blurb when something big happens. I’ve been kind of weaning myself from blogging for a few weeks.

    This past year has generally been fun as I do enjoy the good debate, but I came to the conclusion last night that it is time to move on…besides the Rabbit’s humor, my favorite part of the entire chess match has been trading barbs with you Rutherford. I am not sure I would have stayed much longer had you and the Rabbit not appeared last year at The Chamber.

    After leaving my message last night to Rutherford, I had second thoughts of “don’t be hateful or obtuse – let them have their day in the sun.” To the left, your man won, and for today I will honor not only Obama, but Rutherford and Chen, and anybody else I frequently dissed here without harassment.

    I will not be watching the Inauguration or listening to the message today, not so much because Obama, but because of the decadence what the inauguration became. When Presidential Elections cost $1B, and the associated post celebratory cost $170MM, I am literally sickened. I know most will call me a fuddy-duddy, sore loser, old coot, or just the simple party pooper, but it literally gives me the creeps, much as it would watching an orgy. I much prefer something simple and transparent, that which honors the passing of the guard, displays our most sacred of American traditions, and gives meaning to the exchange of power, being both elegant and profound.

    Much like the Superbowl has become for me where it is not a football game to be enjoyed, but a cheapened copy of the bread and circus I observe, I now skip the pomp. And you from the left will be glad to know I was the same way with George Bush. Wasn’t there to watch that either.

    But before I leave I wanted to point out something. It’s somewhat controversial, and knowing the left’s proclivity of sensitivities, I can almost hear the screeching from down south. I hope you will consider my point.

    As I have previously said, if there was anything positive for me that came out of Obama winning, it was watching blacks dance at the outcome after the finish of the election. Like the underdog who had beaten the overwhelming opponent, if you had any shred of decency, you couldn’t help but be a bit happy for those, who for whatever reason, have felt marginalized and downtrodden.

    I heard yesterday, with TV blaring, many blacks celebrating locally and on cable singing Martin Luther King’s dream had been fulfilled. And as I listened, I shook my head in disagreement.

    King was first and foremost a Black Baptist preacher, a man of God, and a believer in family and community. All of his great speeches came from a theme from the Bible. In my book, I have no doubt he was the greatest orator of our generation, a man of influence, whose life cut far too short. That too sickens me.

    But I question if King really would approve and agree that his dream fulfilled – that is one being judged by the content of character and not the color of skin? Consider his own community that he loved: 70% illegitimacy rates, drive-by gang shootings, drug infested public housing, spoiled black athletes acting like animals and gladiators, rap and hip hop marginalizing women, explicit and cheapened entertainment, children abandoned and running the streets alone.

    Now bear with me, because I know of the left’s profound sensitivity with respect to anything of race, and especially of black.

    Where I live, there doesn’t seem to be a night that goes by that some black isn’t shot by another black, sometimes randomly for no apparent reason; the crimes generally centralized as the town almost yawns. No different than any urban city really.

    Last weekend, some 14 year old kid, moved here from Chicago with his mother to get away from the gang war, was shot in the head after he had apparently done nothing wrong – no drugs, no trouble, no nothing. Just happened to be standing in the wrong place, at the wrong time, with some new friend he had made at school that day. They stood in the living room of a friend’s home, much like your own children would, and ended being shot in the head by an older black male who randomly fired into the living room.

    I used blacks as example because of the history made today, but I could have easily picked any other race to make my case and point.

    For all we will witness in the coming weeks, for all of our braggadocio that we have overcome, the supposed history that is made, I can’t help but be of the opinion it is really a ruse and King would have agreed. We aren’t moving forward as most believe, but backward.

    I leave you a word from the wisest man that ever lived:

    I have seen something else under the sun:
    The race is not to the swift
    or the battle to the strong,
    nor does food come to the wise
    or wealth to the brilliant
    or favor to the learned;
    but time and chance happen to them all.

    Moreover, no man knows when his hour will come:
    As fish are caught in a cruel net,
    or birds are taken in a snare,
    so men are trapped by evil times
    that fall unexpectedly upon them.

    Live long and prosper. 😉


  13. P.S. Chen, will you give the Rabbit my email address? I would like to hear of his wife’s progress if he has the time. And thank you for the use of your board. I will see you around…


  14. I’ve been up all day and night watching inaugural coverage so I am dead tired. I’ll address some of Tex’s comment tomorrow when I’m “fresher”.

    For now, what a fantastic day it has been. For the first time in our history, third world nations look at America and see a leader who looks like them. Just the cosmetics alone will shift the world view. It’s exciting as hell and I can’t wait to see how it all unfolds!


  15. Now that I’m a bit fresher, I’ll address Tex’s comment although it appears he won’t be around to read the response.

    It’s really short and simple. Anyone who believes that the result of Obama’s election is that drive-by shootings and gang-banging will disappear overnight is a fool. For Tex (or any conservative) to think that liberals are that stupid is really kind of insulting.

    So the question is do I want drive-by shootings in a society that reflects my ideals or do I want drive-by shootings in a society that doesn’t? Sadly, for the most part, the drive-by’s will continue probably until drugs are somehow decriminalized. In the meantime, give me a leader who is against torture and is for bipartisan approaches to problem solving.

    Real simple.


  16. Ruthorford,
    Obama is hardly a guy who reaches across the aisle, he was ranked the most liberal senator for goodness sake!


  17. Who is he turning to now for some foreign affairs advice? John McCain, as hard as that is to believe. Obama will make his decisions based on opinions from both sides of the table.



Leave a Reply

