h1

For The Love Of… Just Ignore Ann Coulter

March 2, 2007

Note to righty bloggers reading this: 

I hereby declare that I will not use Ann Coulter’s remarks (past, present, and future) against conservatives, so long as you declare that Ann Coulter is effectively banished from intelligent political discourse.  It’s not that hard to do, really.  It’s not like she’s running for president or anything.  Before you know it, her appearances on Fox and silly guest appearances at major events like CPAC will be a thing of the past. 

Let’s let Ann ride off into the sunset, shall we? 

BTW- Who’d miss her?

Update: Oh, my goodness.  Coulter’s comments made the NY Times: G.O.P. Candidates Criticize Slur by Conservative Author …Ok, that’s 3 presidential hopefuls. 

And oh my goodness…… gracious, Right Wing Nut House makes basically the same suggestion: COULTER FATIGUE

I urge everyone – right and left – to take the following actions:

1. Never write another blog post about Ann Coulter no matter how outrageous, cruel, or bigoted her language…..

Sounds good to me. Heck, I hesitated to write this one, but I think it was needed to convey my desire to bring right and left together on this.  She is a menace. I’m with ya Rick (there are 5 more actions on Rick’s list)

Update:  Bryan at Hot Air hits the target:  The problem with Ann

And, what’s the big headline coming out of CPAC? Is it that Josh Sparling won a much-deserved award? Is it that conservatives remain committed to the war for freedom against terrorism? Is it that this post-blowout CPAC was the largest CPAC ever? Was it that I got to be on a teevee show?

No. The headline coming out of CPAC is that Ann Coulter said an awful thing. Which is what she wants, since it’ll keep her profile up and help her sell books. She doesn’t care that conservative heroes and leaders and thousands of other less known conservatives who were present will end up getting tarnished by her remarks. She doesn’t care that she’s putting the CPAC organizers in a bind, since she’s their biggest draw but also their biggest liability. She probably doesn’t care that she’s John Edwards’ spokesmodel. She probably likes the attention. It’s all about Ann. And that’s the problem.

Yep.  She does things like this for her own reasons.  If I were a conservative, I’d be outraged by the fact that she used CPAC for this kind of self promotion, and left the rest of you to clean up the mess.   Let’s all just ignore her (no calls for apologies, no booking her on a show to explain her comments, etc.), and this can be my last post on this subject.

And just for the record, I’ve never really thought of Coulter as a serious conservative, so I’ve rarely used her outrageousness against other conservatives.  I do worry, however, that there are too many who do (take her seriously).  Hopefully, after this, that number will be greatly reduced.

Update: Thanks to Brian Montopoli at CBS for linking to this post.  Spread the word!

Update:  It’s catching on!  Today I salute righty bloggers who reprinted this: An Open Letter to CPAC Sponsors and Organizers Regarding Ann Coulter

Update 10/11:  I’m just going to keep pinging blogs with this post.  So… there.

11 comments

  1. I second this motion.


  2. I third the motion and raise it with a link at my place.


  3. Nice!


  4. Didn’t know about the blackout. Just made a post. I apologize most sincerely and will not do another one. 😉 Promise.


  5. what a good idea


  6. —I hereby declare that I will not use Ann Coulter’s remarks (past, present, and future) against conservatives, so long as you declare that Ann Coulter is effectively banished from intelligent political discourse.—

    —Update: Oh, my goodness. Coulter’s comments made the NY Times: G.O.P. Candidates Criticize Slur by Conservative Author …Ok, that’s 3 presidential hopefuls.—

    Thata was fast breaking of the resolution.


  7. I don’t think so. I was just pointing out what kind of ruckus she caused.


  8. whatever happened to Ann Coulter? she seems to make a fewer public appearances nowadays


    • I think she was busy writing her new book. It just came out, so she’s back making more drama for herself lately.


  9. she needs to be taken out in the desert and left….excelpt she would probably kill all the snakes…they wouldnt have a chance…she is nothing but talking head….cant take her serious…hopefully she will become ill and pass away soon…


  10. For the record, I’m from England, and those of us who do follow the American media, specifically the right/left controversies, see absolutely no difference between someone Coulter and someone like O’Reilly, or Limbaugh, or Hannity. They’re all agenda-based pathological liars, they’re all self-serving narcissists, they’re all hysterical hatemongers.

    If a character like any of those people emerged over here, they’d be laughed at. I’m serious. They’re beyond satire. They all behave like spoiled children.



Leave a comment