h1

Shadow Wolves To Hunt Bin Laden

March 11, 2007

I found this interesting story on the Digg wire: Native American trackers to hunt bin Laden

WASHINGTON: An elite group of Native American trackers is joining the hunt for terrorists crossing Afghanistan’s borders.

The unit, the Shadow Wolves, was recruited from several tribes, including the Navajo, Sioux, Lakota and Apache. It is being sent to Tajikistan and Uzbekistan to pass on ancestral sign-reading skills to local border units.In recent years, members of the Shadow Wolves have mainly tracked smugglers along the US border with Mexico.

Reading this, I was instantly reminded of my childhood days of playing with and watching….. G.I. Joe:

spiritcard.jpg

Now you know, and “knowing is half the battle”   I wonder if they’ll bring “Billy” along?  One thing is clear; Bin Laden has a new foe, and it is G.I. Joe.  Go Joe!

Seriously though, I’m interested to see if this really works. 

Update:  Now that I think about it, I think the character “Billy” in the movie Predator was a G.I. Joe reference:

billy-predator.jpg

Wouldn’t the Pentagon and others want to keep something like this secret

read more

Digg!

4 comments

  1. you’d think the pentagon would keep this a secret. now we’ll be hearing of muslims doing suicide missions on our rez, i.e.: running into teepees, hogans & desecrating our pow wows. what will they think of next?


  2. Definitely should have been kept secret.If they find Bin Laden the 25 million dollar reward should be donated to their reservations ,build schools,clinics whatever they need!


  3. I don’t agree – why should this be a secret? The skills of NA trackers should be treated as what they are…skills; learned, honed and effective. Their skills and their willingness to literally risk their lives in service to their country and it’s cause, should be known, respected and applauded. It took over 50 years for the US to acknowledge and thank the Navajo for their life-saving, exemplary work as coders in WWII. 50 YEARS! That should not have happened then, and we can not allow it to happen now. As for the security of it, I highly doubt the press release of our using trackers in the Middle East is even on the Taliban’s radar – let alone a priority for suicide missions. In regards to the reward, I question why you, m. begay, feel it should go to their reservations? They are individuals, who happen to be NA and skilled as trackers, there is no mention that they live on a rez. If they were hunters from Appalachia would you expect them to donate to the Smokey Mountains? I am sure, should they gain the reward, they would make a donation and assist their rez. But one should not immediately assume that every Native lives and supports the rez. I am in Boston, not a rez in sight but no less a Cherokee. And as a Cherokee, I am proud of what they are willing to do and will not be the least surprised if they find Bin Laden.


  4. Absolutely with you it agree. In it something is also I think, what is it good idea.

    By the way, what do you think about this icons site?



Leave a comment